Numbers

One day until my youngest son graduates with his Bachelor’s degree in Human Kinetics. Two days until Provincials. Three days until a little celebration with friends. Four days off work. For someone who has never been fond of math, I’m all about the numbers right now!

I have previously competed 7 times. Only once have I had a perfect 9 for 9 competition. Once I went 7 for 9, which was also the only time I ever failed a squat in competition. The remaining five competitions were all 8 for 9, with the missed lift being either my final bench or final deadlift. I have had 7 Provincial records and 11 National records. Thanks to my months of back problems, I’m really only hoping to get one Provincial record this time, but I’d also really like to have another 9 for 9 outing.

Today’s training session was predictably easy and light. We basically worked up to about 70% and kept the volume low. Mostly my session was about practicing technique.

1a. squats-low bar, with sleeves

45 lbs x 10, 95 x 4, 135 x 4

with belt: 155 x 2, 175 x 1, 175 x 1

During the second set, I hit the safety on the second rep. That’s how much my back is not limiting my depth anymore!

1b. bench press-competition grip, with legs and arch

43 lbs x 10, 63 x 5, 83 x 5, 103 x 3 all these sets were touch and go

103 x 2, 103 x 2 the first rep of each of these two sets was touch and go, the second rep was paused at the top and bottom with commands

2. deadlifts-conventional

135 lbs x 5, 135 x 5, 155 x 3

I kept the bar nice and close to my legs, took the slack out of the bar…basically did everything the way that I am supposed to!

Now I get to rest, more or less. I still have a list of things to get done between now and early Saturday morning. It will get done!

Leave a Reply

