National Wine Day?

I’m tired, and apparently it is National Wine Day. Those two facts really don’t have anything to do with each other. My combining the two facts speaks to the current state of my brain and body. I am indeed tired, like mouth-gaping yawns and bones melting into the floor tired. I’d also absolutely love to have a glass of wine. alas, I have none in the house and I’m trying to keep my diet clean until after Provincials. Perhaps I can get a decent sleep tonight. My day wound up being even longer than I expected. It wasn’t a bad day, just long, especially since my day started quite early.

1a. squats-low bar, with sleeves

45 lbs x 8, 95 x 6

with belt: 135 x 5, 165 x 3, 185 x 3, 195 x 3, 195 x 3, 195 x 3

The bar felt heavier today when I got to 185 pounds, but it only felt heavy as I unracked it. I finished my reps feeling like I could have easily done a few more. After my second set at 195, Michael asked what I wanted to do. There wasn’t even a question about adding weight. That second set was a little on the slow and tough looking side of things, so he definitely didn’t want to add weight. However, he knew that sometimes my middle sets can be worse than the rest. Another set would be fine, so long as the reps were good and not grinders. I didn’t know what to say, because lately it feels like my body does not know squat the way it used to. So, I said I’d like to do another set and gave him permission to shut me down if the reps started looking bad. In typical Angela fashion, that final set was the best of the bunch.

1b. band pull-aparts

15 reps before every bench set

1c. bench press-competition grip

feet on bench: 43 x 10, 63 x 6

feet on floor and arch: 93 x 5, 110 x 3, 125 x 1, 125 x 1, 125 x 1

The heavy singles weren’t bad, although at least a couple of them were slower than Michael would have liked.

I am going to have to seriously work to keep a positive attitude towards Provincials and my bench press. My competition bench has been stuck at the same weight for a long time. So long that it is far too easy to feel dread that I’m going to continue to be stuck at that weight, and that dread spikes every time the bar feels heavy and slow in the gym.

2. ab wheel

x 12, x 10

My back still resists certain body movements, like a pelvic tilt when doing ab wheel roll-outs, but these were not too bad today. Certainly better than the last time I did them, and I think I was rolling out a bit further, too.

Leave a Reply

