The Calm Before the Volume Storm

Just like it had been a while since I last did back squats, it has been equally long since I have deadlifted. As excited as I am to have the green light to resume both, I have to admit that I was most nervous about the deadlifts. Yesterday’s squats may have been tentative, but I was mentally more concerned about how the lower back would hold up to pulling heavyish weight.

1a. deadlifts

95 lbs x 5 + 5 RDL

95 x 5 sumo + another 4 after refining start position

135 x 5 sumo + 5 conventional

There was slight discomfort in the right knee during the sumo reps, so we stopped doing sumo.

165 x 5 conventional and with double overhand! I usually use straps for reps when I get to 165 pounds.

195 x 5 conventional with straps

195 x 1 + 5 with belt

The lower back wasn’t happy with the first rep. Most likely I wasn’t adequately tight and I pulled with my back instead of pushing with my legs. The reminder to get tight everywhere and to my my legs made the next 5 reps feel better.

1b. bench press-close grip, touch and go

43 lbs x 10, 73 x 8, 93 x 8, 105 x 8, 120 x 5 PR, 105 x 8

The PR is for a close grip bench press.

2. deadlifts with a pause right below the knee

135 lbs x 1 without straps and probably using my back again

with straps 135 x 5 or 6

There was some throbbing in the lower back immediately following which eased up within a few minutes. Now, a couple of hours later, there is no throb, but there is some slight achiness. Actually, it feels much the same as after a competition. I’m not about to panic. I’m sure the back will be fine; it just needs to get used to deadlifting again.

Leave a Reply

