The Benchmark

It’s been a month since I’ve done back squats. Gosh. I don’t think I was fully aware of how long it has been until just now when I looked back in my training log. Provincials are roughly 3 months away. My desire to compete again is intensifying, and I am trying not to let my thoughts linger too long on how the current SI joint problem may affect my training and performance. I have goals. I am not content to put in a sub-par performance on the platform; I want to continue to improve. I want to break my records, go to Westerns, go to Nationals next year, and qualify for Worlds. Provincials is not the ‘be all and end all’ of competitions, but I want to start and finish well.

I’ve been assured that my strength isn’t going to evaporate into thin air from a lack of back squats. My confidence in that statement may waver depending on the day; however, I do trust my coach, except for those times when he tells me that a pesky little exercise is going to be easy and I know that it won’t be. My chiropractor still doesn’t want me to do back squats, but he has given me the okay to do goblet squats and front squats. I’ll take whatever form of squats I can get!

1a. front squats

43 lbs x 6 or 7

This first set was just the bar, so it was naturally easy and light; however, I did feel some discomfort in my lower back at the bottom of the squat. Not too bad…certainly less than the pain I felt sitting to put on my gym shoes. But the discomfort was enough to make me slightly apprehensive about putting weight on the bar.

73 lbs x 8, 93 x 6, 113 x 6, 133 x 6, 113 x 8

That discomfort I felt during the warm-up set? It was non-existent once there was some weight on the bar! In fact, these front squats felt really good. Bar path was good. Speed was decent, I think, although the weight was far from maximal. My rack position was probably the best it has ever been! I seemed to have no trouble at all keeping my elbows nice and high. Honestly, I am supremely satisfied with my front squats this morning. It almost makes me forget just how much I am missing the back squats!

1b. bench press-competition grip, using the fat bar

43 lbs x 8 warm-up with a regular bar since the fat bar itself weighs 74 pounds

74 lbs x 8, 94 x 6, 109 x 6, 124 x 5118 x 8

The sting of no back squats has been lessened by the recent spate of pressing PRs. I am not going to complain about finally seeing gains in my bench press, even if I still don’t always feel confident. After the 109 pound set, Michael said to put 124 pounds on the bar, that I could do that for 5 reps. I changed the plates on the bar and said nothing, but my thoughts were swirling. Does he seriously believe that I can do 5 reps at that weight?! I just set a new PR last week of 120 lbs for 5…with a regular bar. This is a fat bar and more weight. What if the previous PR was a fluke? Inside I was apprehensive, but I can be stubborn in my willingness to try just about anything. And I did it! All of the hard work is finally paying off.

1c. seated cable row-leaning back

80 lbs x 12 x 4 sets

90 lbs x 12

2a. hip thrusts-with hip circle and medium sandbag x 20

2b. TRX knee-ins x 8

2c. triceps cable pressdowns

40 lbs x 12 overhand grip + 20 lbs x 18 underhand grip

As I’ve been laying here composing this blog post, I’ve been considering a walk this afternoon. The sun is shining and there is actually blue sky. I want to plug in my earbuds and walk. Part of me wants to put that off until tomorrow, but the forecast doesn’t sound so wonderful. Of course, the forecast for today doesn’t truly look much better than tomorrow’s, but the weather in this moment is actually nice. I guess that seals it then…time to put on some socks and shoes!

 

Leave a Reply

