A Sob Story

I was going to blog about something else entirely, but I find myself caught up in watching the 1985 version of Anne of Green Gables with my daughter and husband. I am old enough to have first watched this version when it first aired. In fact, I would have been 13 years old at the time, and I have loved it ever since. My daughter has never seen any version of Anne, with the exception of about half an hour of a version that came out last year. We started watching the new one about a month ago, but I found it supremely disappointing and wanted Abby to see the one that I fell in love with many years ago. We watched the first half of the original last night, and we’re watching the last half as I type.

It is quite apparent that I am a hopeless romantic and that am deeply impacted and moved by emotional moments, regardless of whether or not they are real life or fiction. My eyes have been leaking and frequently. I love this version! While I am a lover of books, sometimes there are movie or television adaptations of books that surpass the words on pages…at least for me.

“You’ve never failed at anything, Anne Shirley!”

And a mighty sob worked it’s way up my throat and escaped most unbecomingly from my lips. My husband and daughter snicker in amusement as I swipe at tears with a Kleenex kept by my side. We haven’t even got to the truly heart-breaking scenes yet, but my eyes know what is yet to come. But, I’m okay with my emotional side…most of the time anyway. I think it might mean that I am perfectly human after all.

Leave a Reply

