Push Up PR

It’s been a week now since my lower back presented with significant pain and discomfort. While there has definitely been improvement since last Monday, I am a bit bothered by the lingering discomfort. I do not like it when pain or injury disrupts my training plan, but I think I have managed to maintain a reasonable level of positive attitude, at least more recently. Pain is frustrating. Altering training to accommodate the pain is necessary but still frustrating. Staying positive can sometimes be harder than the training but just as important. I’m trying to remember that. I see my chiropractor this afternoon, so I’m eager to hear what he has to say about my back. At least I hope he can give me positive feedback. I don’t want to think about the alternative.

My first training session of the week is usually squat day, but I knew before I arrived that normal squats were unlikely to happen. Still, a squat is a squat, no matter what it looks like, right?

1a. belt squats

body weight x 12, 45 lbs x 12, 90 lbs x 10, 100 x 8

Following the 100 x 8 set, there was some discomfort in the lower back. Not really an increase in pain but a general ache, so we dropped the weight and that eliminated the strain on the back.

45 lbs x 15, 45 lbs x 20

1b. bench press, competition grip, no legs

45 lbs x 10, 65 x 10, 85 x 8, 95 x 8, 100 x 8

These were good, solid, dependable…even without an arch and the use of my legs.

1c. ab wheel

x 8, x 10, x 10, x 5

Michael wanted some kind of ab work. I didn’t even want to consider GHD sit-ups, knowing that the back would be most angry with that movement. He had me try some hanging knee raises. I quit after the third rep, because the back was feeling cranky. The ab wheel wasn’t too bothersome last week, so that’s what I did today. I cut the final set short, because…

2a. I was supposed to do some single leg squats. The first attempt hurt the back, so we lowered the height; however, the second attempt was a bust due to quads being completely done.

Bulgarian split squats

body weight x 10 each

26kg kettlebell x 7 each

26kg x 10 with left leg back + only 4 with right leg back

2b. These were supposed to be leg curls, but guess what! That darn lower back!

push ups x 14PR, x 10, x 7

My previous best for push ups was 12. Michael said I could do as many as I could for the first set or two, maybe leaving a rep in the tank. I think I might have been able to grind out a fifteenth rep, possibly even another, but I stopped at fourteen. In hindsight, that was silly. I should have gone for more, but I wanted to have something left for the remaining sets. Obviously my plan didn’t quite work anyway! The last set was made a tad tougher by having a slightly narrower hand placement. That wasn’t intentional. Still, it feels good to finish my session feeling reasonably strong and capable with push ups.

Now I just need the back to feel better, so I can pick up a 26kg kettle bell, bend over to put on my pants or shoes, and sit for 5 minutes without pain.

 

Leave a Reply

