One Day at a Time

For once I was kind of looking forward to upper body day, because I figured that it might be an easier day on my lower back. At least it felt like a more productive training day, even if it was still frustrating.

1a. chin ups-with barbell and incline bench

overhand grip x 9, x 8

underhand grip x 7

with rings and incline bench x 6, x 7

1b. push ups-on barbell

x 8

with chains 4 sets of 8 reps

I don’t think I have ever done so many reps with chains before, so I can be happy about these. Getting into position wasn’t comfortable on the lower back, but it wasn’t a difficult adjustment to make.

2a. TRX supine rows-with legs straight + with knees bent

x 5 + 5, x 5 + 6

Then Michael saw how slowly and carefully I was moving to get into position for these rows. The back was fine once I was in position, but getting from standing to sitting to a supine position was uncomfortable. So…

chest-supported row 25 lbs x 17

The weight was super light, and I was keeping the reps strict, not arching the back. Michael wanted 20 reps. I stopped at 17, and I wasn’t happy about it. I easily had the strength to complete the reps, but the lower back wasn’t feeling very nice at all. By this point I was feeling rather frustrated, so I had to have a moment with my water bottle, back turned to everyone, just focusing on breathing and not giving in to tears. <sigh>

So…

a single arm standing row with a band-like thing: 2 sets of 15 each side

Pallof press-standing x 12 each side

2b. braced single arm dumbbell presses

25 lbs x 6 each, 25 x 6.25 left + 7 right

The right arm could have done so many more reps, but the left arm just wasn’t willing to cooperate. Drop the weight to get more reps…

20 lbs x 10 each, 20 x 8 each

3a. alternating dumbbell curls

15 lbs x 30, 20 lbs x 20, 20 lbs x 18

3b. kettlebell triceps extension

10kg x 12, x 12, x 10

At one point Michael asked me what I was thinking, and I said that I’ll never be able to deadlift again. I know that is a gross exaggeration of reality, but right now I don’t see how I will be able to deadlift on Friday. Michael pointed out several times this morning that we can make adaptations and work around the problem. I know it. I don’t always like that, but I know it is true. And important to do when necessary. Then Michael made a comment about maybe needing to take a week or two off from training. My face dropped, but I quickly said that wouldn’t be necessary because I’m going to be fine. Just like that he sucked me into changing my mental perspective from negative to positive. Fine! I will think positive thoughts about whatever is going on with my back, trusting that it isn’t anything major and that it will get better soon. I can do that for at least one day at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

