Wednesday Warrior

My Wednesday training sessions are often frustrating and challenging, not all the time but often enough. No matter how determined I am to have a good Wednesday session, somewhere along the way I hit a snag. Today was another one of those days.

1a. military press

45 lbs x 8, 50 x 5, 55 x 6, 55 x 6 close grip, 60 x 3 + 2 with push, 60 x 3

Today’s military press focus was on engaging my lats, because I obviously do not do this already. During the military press, my shoulders usually fatigue very quickly and feel like they are burning from the effort. Apparently this is due to not properly engaging my lats! Making adjustments to technique is usually fraught with struggle, and this was no exception. While I did notice that the shoulders didn’t feel the usual fatigue, it is going to take some time and practice to get comfortable with the change.

1b. chin ups

x 2 unassisted + 5 with small green band

x 1.5 unassisted + 5 with green band

x 1 unassisted + 6 with green band

x 0 unassisted + 5 with green band

x 5 with green band

The military press was frustrating, but I am actually happy with my chin ups today. I doubt that I have ever done so many unassisted reps in one day. Not ever! Yes, the unassisted reps did drop each set and I didn’t even make an attempt on the last set, but my assisted reps didn’t drop like they typically do, too! It would be easy to have missed this little ray of hope, but I’m glad to have found it.

2a. Pendlay rows

65 lbs x 12, 95 x 7, 105 x 3 + 8 underhand/not Pendlay rows

The first set was easy. The second set was kind of heavy feeling. I set up for the third set, didn’t feel good about it, walked away from the bar, and then reset. Michael told me to try rows with my torso a little more upright. I managed 3 reps, but I was getting a nervy kind of twinge down the side of my right wrist with every pull. Michael had me try an underhand grip. It helped with the wrist thing, but it sure didn’t feel natural.

2b. push ups on the parallettes

x 8, x 6 a bit wider, x 9

The first set was easy. The second set was much tougher, and I blame that on Michael wanting the parallettes moved apart a bit more. The third set was easier than the second but not quite as easy as the first. Michael called it on the ninth rep, because my right shoulder was rising more than it should. Agreed. There were definitely reps in which my left arm didn’t seem to be exerting as much force as the right, or it was just lagging behind.

2c. prone trap raises

2.5 lbs in each hand x 15

And these were actually not too bad either.

A little good, a little frustrating…one Wednesday morning, one day down the road, I will crush my training session.

 

Leave a Reply

