Dreaming Big

I had the privilege of going to the gym after work today rather than tomorrow.

1a. deadlifts

95 lbs x 5, 135 x 6, 165 x 6

with straps: 195 x 5, 215 x 5, 225 x 5

I think these felt pretty good today. Every single rep might not have been completely perfect, but I think I’m getting better, more consistent at keeping the bar close to the legs. I don’t have a chart or the mental capacity at this moment to determine the best record, but I’ve never 5 reps at 225 pounds before. Certainly not without a belt.

1b. dips

with blue band x 6

no band x 5, x 4

with orange band x 5

2a. block pulls, sumo and with straps

205 x 8, 235 x 8

These felt easier than I expected, but then I think I usually find block pulls to feel easier.

2b. glute ham raises

x 9, x 20

I love glute ham raises. I really do! The problem with my first set was the DOMS in my quads. Sore quads pressing into the pad of the GHD is super uncomfortable and painful. I was grimacing with every rep, not from effort but due to the pain. Suck it up, buttercup! The second set was much better. I tend to find that subsequent sets are less painful. It’s almost like the first set hurts until the muscles warm up and remember that they are doing something simple.

2c. flat dumbbell presses

25 lbs x 5, 39 lbs x 7, 39 x 9

Then at home I did a 20 second RKC plank and 15 lying leg raises.

At one point during the session, our conversation touched on my bench press. On Monday I had done 6 reps at 112 pounds. As Michael pointed out today, that works out to a 1RM of 132 pounds, which is where my bench press PR has been stuck at for a very long time. Then Michael threw out a comment about me being able to bench 150 pounds soon. That got my attention. “Seriously?! You think so?” He wasn’t joking. I have to admit that my hopes began to rise in that moment. I’ve had a 150 pound bench as an unspoken goal for a while. Truth be told, I have several bench press goals written down in my little book of goals, because I was/am doubtful about how realistic some of them are. Like c’mon! Why would I give myself the goal to bench 150, when I’ve been stuck at 132 for a year? Quite honestly, my primary bench goal is just to break through that plateau, even if that means a 135 pound bench press. Michael then said that we could test it in a few weeks, but then he asked if I wanted to try 150 today…unless it would-how did he put it-mess with my mental state, or something like that. I had to think about it for a moment. The temptation to see if I could was strong, but Michael knows me well enough to have tacked on the right qualifier to his question.

It is not very often that I turn down an opportunity to attempt a new PR. Even when I am not completely confident that I can, I want to; however, Michael’s comment about the possibility of throwing my head space into turmoil was valid. Setting a new PR would be awesome and would energize me in a multitude of ways. On the other hand, attempting a new PR and failing, especially one I’ve struggled with like the bench press, would be mentally devastating. It’s funny how some things can mess with your head, or at least mine. I have missed PR attempt squats in the gym before, not many but at least two or three, and none of those misses were nearly as crushing as missing a bench press PR. So, I acknowledged that missing such an attempt would mess with my head, and we didn’t pursue it. I’m okay with that for today. While I cannot hesitate to try for fear of failure, there are definitely many variables as to when it is best to try. I trust my coach’s judgement, and we’ll give it a go when the time is right.

Leave a Reply

