Girl Gone Grumpy

I’m extremely glad to not be working tonight. While I had been scheduled to close tonight, a partner had asked if I could work her Monday close earlier this week and she would take mine tonight. I had to give some serious thought to that request, because Monday was to be one of my days off and I had planned on getting all of my last-minute Christmas stuff done. The prospect of having today off meant a 4 day weekend over Christmas, and that was what ultimately made me agree to the request. Of course, that also meant that all of that last minute stuff had to be done today, even though I knew just how much I would not enjoy doing it all today. I know myself. I don’t like shopping at the best of times, so shopping on one of the busiest days of the year is so far removed from my idea of a good time. To compound my frustration, my husband wanted to come with me. <sigh> Well intentioned but still not a good idea. I’m afraid that my descent into grumpiness was swift and deep. I could write a lengthy blog post all about the ways that I get irritated while shopping, but I won’t. I was also starving and under-caffeinated…not a good combination when out in public. I’m home now, with groceries and wine and stocking stuffers. My husband went back out to finish off the rest. But I got my training in first thing this morning…

1a. deadlifts with the trap bar

95 lbs x 8, 145 x 8, 185 x 8, 215 x 8, 185 x 10

1b. flat dumbbell presses, touch and go

25 lbs x 10, 29 x 10, 39 x 8, 44 x 5, 44 x 6 PR

The first set at 44 pounds ended in the midst of the sixth rep, when my right arm just collapsed. The second set was better. Thankfully my coach was spotting me for those heavy sets. While I did avert my head when the right arm gave out, he was also there to make sure the dumbbell didn’t end up in my face. His hands did touch the dumbbells on the sixth rep of the final set. I teased him about touching, but he was just making sure I was okay and didn’t actually assist.

2a. glute-ham raises, pausing with my body essentially horizontal

x 12, x 12

with a 5 lb dumbbell held behind my neck x 12

The first two sets were super easy, and the addition of the dumbbell did present a bit more challenge; however, I wasn’t content to stop at the initial 8 that Michael said I could do. I didn’t even want to stop at the 10 he then said I could manage. I wanted to match my previous two sets, so 12 it was…and it wasn’t completely maximal.

2b. chest-supported rows

90 lbs x 6 + 2, x 6 + 3, with straps x 7 + 2

The first reps were using the angled handles, while the additional reps were with a pronated grip. These felt incredibly heavy and tough. I want to say that grip was part of the problem, because my calluses were feeling chewed up after doing all the deadlifts with chalk and my bare hands. But even with the use of straps for the last set, it was still a struggle. I just realized, or remembered, that my upper back is still sore from Wednesday’s snatch grip deadlifts. Maybe part of my struggle comes from the upper back being sore and fatigued…

2c. ab wheel

x 10, x 10

Now the challenge is to avoid getting grumpy with no training until the new year…

Leave a Reply

