Trap Bar Friday

Today’s training session was much better than last Friday’s, but I also feel much more like myself today than I did last Friday. Aside from some low back post-deadlift soreness, everything is feeling decent. I slept well enough last night, but I do feel a little tired. That’s likely due to the fact that I’ve worked the last three days, two of which were closing shifts, and it’s just a crazy time of year. I’m looking forward to my weekend, but I’m really looking forward to having three days off over Christmas!

1a. trap bar deadlifts

45 lbs x 6, 115 x 8, 165 x 8, 195 x 8, 195 x 8, 205 x 8

These were rather tough last week, and I only managed two “heavy” sets at 185 but only 5-6 reps. And I used straps last week. Today I just used chalk and had no issues with grip.

1b. flat dumbbell presses

25 lbs x 10, 34 x 10, 39 x 8, 39 x 8, 39 x 9

It’s not normal for me to warm up for dumbbell presses with the 25 pounders. They used to feel heavy and intimidating. Okay, so they still might depending on the exercise, but for these presses I am no longer afraid of the weight.

2a. front rack reverse lunges

45 lbs x 16, 75 x 16

switched to back squat reverse lunges with the torso bending more forward

75 lbs x 6 + 85 lbs x 12, 85 x 14

2b. chest supported rows

16kg kettlebells x 13, x 10, x 10

These felt heavy today. Michael pointed out that they probably would after everything I’d done already. Yeah, I could feel that.

2c. GHD sit-ups

x 15, x 11

Leave a Reply

