Breathe!

Christmas is in 11 days. Yesterday was my last opening shift until the final day of the year. Today begins two weeks of closing shifts. I don’t mind closing shifts…we’ll just see if I feel the same by the end of this holiday season! It’s really going to mess with my routines, but I’ll survive and make it work.

I warmed up with the dowel for some overhead squats and the shoulder was feeling okay. Then I did a set with just the bar. It was doable, but the shoulder felt very tight and uncomfortable. I finished the set, hesitated, unsure that I really wanted to continue with the overhead squats. My coach teased me about listening to my coach, but he was okay with me not doing them. It’s not that I don’t want to, and I could push through the discomfort. It feels so wrong to question my desire to do these, because I like doing overhead squats. Am I wimping out? Or am I being smart?

1a. snatch grip deadlifts, touch and go

115 x 8, 145 x 6

with straps: 175 x 8, 205 x 5, 225 x 3, 205 x 5

The set at 225 pounds was supposed to be a set of 5, probably could have been, too; however, I got myself into some bad positioning with the bar and had some issues with breathing, or not breathing. The drop down set was better in terms of positioning but not necessarily for breathing. I seem to get told that a lot.

1b. double kettlebell presses, standing

10kg x 10, 12kg x 7, 12kg x 8, 12kg x 8, 12kg x 7.5

I couldn’t quite lock out that last rep on the final set. Honestly, every set felt challenging today.

2a. glute-ham raises

x 8, x 12, x 12, x 12

I knew that these were going to be uncomfortable as soon as Michael told me to do them. My quads are in the throes of DOMS and the pressure on the quads while doing these is most painful, but it did get slightly less uncomfortable with every set. Maybe it works kind of like foam rolling? By the end though I was definitely feeling my glutes working hard.

2b. neutral grip pull-downs, more like a row

90 lbs x 12, x 10, x 8, x 7

3. toes to bar, with chalk

x 3 (pathetic) + 10 hanging knee raises

x 4 + 7 hanging knee raises with leg extensions

 

Leave a Reply

