Banded Deadlifts

The shoulder wasn’t feeling too bad when I arrived at the gym this morning, so Michael let me do some warm up movements with the dowel in preparation for overhead squats. Sadly, the shoulder felt some discomfort while holding the dowel overhead. <grrr> So no overhead squats again. Instead I got to do some YWTLs with an orange band.

1a. deadlifts with mini black bands

with mix grip: 95 lbs x 8, 115 lbs x 8, 145 x 8, 175 x 8

with straps: 185 x 5, 185 x 3 touch and go

After a couple of weeks using the red mini bands, this was my first time using the black mini bands. The black bands added 75.3 pounds at the top of the deadlift, so the numbers I posted above reflect only the actual weight of the bar and plates. The extra resistance at the top wanted to rip the bar out of my hands, so I had to use a mixed grip from the get-go until Michael told me to use straps. The first set at 185 was supposed to have more reps, but I paused an extra second or two after the fourth rep and just couldn’t reclaim the tension or rhythm, although I did struggle through one more rep. This is something that I have learned about myself…that during heavy, high rep sets I need to maintain a steady rhythm and pace or run the risk of losing that tension and being unable to finish. The final set was to be touch-and-go , so that I would have no choice but to keep the tension. I only managed three reps though before the body said enough. While 185 pounds is easy off the floor for me, I have to remember that it was 260 pounds at the top. I don’t do super heavy deadlifts very often in the gym and generally never for reps. Regardless, I think I did a really good job with my form today. The bar was skimming my legs all the way up and down virtually every rep, and Michael said that I was bringing my hips to the bar rather than letting my back break form. 🙂

1b. double kettlebell presses

8kg x 12, 10kg x 10, 10kg x 10, 12kg x 8, 12 kg x 7

Apparently I was supposed to breathe properly during these sets. I thought I was breathing already…

But once again Michael said that my form was much better! 🙂

2a. Romanian deadlifts

145 lbs x 11, 145 x 10, 145 x 9

Pretty sure Michael said these were looking better, too!

2b. supine rows, using the fat bar and underhand grip

all with knees bent: x 7, x 9, x 6

These were not so easy. Supine rows aren’t always easy for me, but the combination of underhand grip and fat bar made them all the more difficult. There was absolutely no way that I was going to get any reps with my legs out straight.

The shoulder, despite the initial warm-up discomfort, held up pretty well for the rest of my training session; however, to my chagrin, the rest of the day has not been as happy for my shoulder. 😦

 

Leave a Reply

