The Safety Bar Sucketh

This week has felt rather long and out-of-sorts, yet here I am on the brink of my Friday. I think today was a good work day. I am feeling more comfortable in my position. While there are still many things for me to learn and get used to, I feel as if I am settling into a groove, and today was a day where everything seemed to fall into place relatively smoothly. Then I went to the gym…

1. overhead squats, wearing flat shoes

35 lbs x 8, 55 lbs x 8, 75 lbs x 8

I was able to get the bar overhead by myself for each set, even the final one, although my technique likely wasn’t the most perfect. As much as I enjoy the overhead squats, today’s sets didn’t feel quite as easy as Wednesdays. I managed the set at 75 pounds, but it felt tougher and like more effort was required to maintain my stability. I suppose there will be days like this, but the right shoulder issues likely had some affect. But the fact that I was able to hang snatch the bar up with 75 pounds is an improvement that I will gladly take.

2a. safety bar squats, flat shoes

75 lbs x 8, 105 x 8, 135 x 8, 155 x 8, 155 x 8

The final set was tough, maybe one of the toughest sets I’ve ever done. I can’t explain it, because the weight was something that normally wouldn’t present too much challenge for me, even for 8 reps. But this was the safety bar and the safety bar doesn’t like to play nice. It feels heavier than it should, and it tries to pitch you forward. I love squats, but I’m not a big fan of the safety bar; however, I’ve been told that the safety bar will benefit my squat and deadlift, so I use that bar whenever my coach requires it. Even when they suck. But this final set felt very tough. In fact, I think this was probably the first time that I have ever seriously wanted to give up early in a set, but I just focused my gaze on the word determination that was on the wall directly in front of me. I survived the set.

2b. flat dumbbell presses

25 lbs x 12, 34 lbs x 10, 34 x 10, 34 x 10

3a. hip thrusts

115 x 8, 205 x 12 PR, 205 x 12, 205 x 10

Last week I did a PR set of 12 at 195 pounds. I improved on that this week and did three sets there. While the weight certainly didn’t feel maximal, my glutes were definitely feeling the effort! I may be walking funny tonight and the next couple of days.

3b. TRX supine rows

x 5 legs straight + 6 legs bent; x 4 + 7

3c. curls

8kg kettlebells x 9, 8kg x 4 + 6kg x 3

These also sucked and always suck. Almost every rep is a struggle, especially at the end of my training session, but I will always cling to the hope that I can do more, that they will get easier. I’m just waiting for that to actually happen!

 

Leave a Reply

