Hello December

Can you believe that it is already December?! It seems as if 2016 has been flying by at warp speed. While it is not yet time to recap my year and look ahead to 2017, I have to say that this has been a very full year with twists and turns, some hoped for and others most unexpected. But the year isn’t over yet! With one month yet to go, I am suddenly feeling crunched for time. December feels almost overwhelmingly busy, although I am sure that is merely perception rather than reality.

I have an annual girls’ bake day this coming Sunday, and I still don’t know what I am going to bake.

I have barely begun to do any sort of preparations for Christmas, and my desire to go shopping is rarely very high. My daughter is pushing to get a tree soon. We always get a fresh tree, so it didn’t make sense to get one sooner.

My youngest son has a birthday right before Christmas. I already know that I will be working that night, but I still need to figure out how best to celebrate him. Because I will never hear the end of it if I don’t!

I want the opportunity to spend time with some friends over the holidays, but finding dates/times that work for all may be tricky.

Housework. I feel so behind on housework. There are also little details that are still not finished from our kitchen reno at this time last year. Right now though, I’d just like to get caught up on the day-to-day stuff.

My husband is in need of a hip replacement. Over the past couple of weeks he has had a couple of appointments which indicate that his time will soon be here. It could happen within the next few months. While it will be good for him to finally have the surgery and hopefully see improvement from it, the nature of surgery and recovery mixed with being self-employed presents a great deal of stress.

Some nights I sleep well; others not so much. Like last night. I went to bed at 11:00PM with my alarm set for 7:30AM. Out like a light and into deep sleep…wide awake around midnight and basically awake, tossing and turning, until after 4:00AM. Thankfully every night isn’t like this, but I am always glad when the bad nights come the day before an open shift. Since I open tomorrow, last night’s lack of sleep should mean that I sleep very well tonight! Or at least I will be in bed early.

I don’t feel ready for December, but here it is nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

