A Shoulder, a Hip & Big Goals

I woke up yesterday with some discomfort in my right shoulder that persisted throughout the day. It was a familiar kind of pain, mostly with my arm in an overhead position or reach back past my body. Possibly I slept on it funny, or it is simply from sleeping on that side more frequently again. On a pain scale, it wasn’t too bad, but it was enough that I was giving serious consideration to asking Michael if I could skip the overhead squats today. My desire to skip an exercise usually only makes an appearance when I’m doing things like laterals or chin ups, and my willingness to back down the weight or reps comes grudgingly. Given my resistance to backing down, you’d think that the shoulder was more of an issue than it really was. I suppose I just wasn’t confident with how stable the shoulder would feel holding the weight overhead, when that position presented the most discomfort. However, I am proud of myself for at least being honest with Michael about the fact that something wasn’t feeling quite right, but that stubborn streak did make an appearance and I went ahead with the overhead squats, although we did decide not to increase the weight.

1. overhead squats

35 lbs x 8, 43 x 8, 63 x 8, 65 x 8, 65 x 8

I think my hang snatch was better this week, especially the latter sets. The shoulder didn’t bother me too much, although I did feel some pinching in my right hip flexor. :/  With overhead squats, every set seems to get easier and smoother. It felt like I could have gone heavier, probably even surpassed my best weight for reps, but there is no harm in backing off a little from time to time.

2a. front squats

95 lbs x 8, 125 x 8, 140 x 8

high bar squats

125 lbs x 8, 145 x 8, 155 x 8

After overhead squats and front squats, the first set of high bar back squats feels tougher than it should. The legs feel like Jello, and I find myself needing to think about so many more technical details. Thankfully the next two sets felt more natural, although I think the rack might have been set a tad lower than my usual. We were set up in a different rack than I usually use for squats, one without numbers to mark the holes.

2b. military press

43 lbs x 8, 53 x 8, 60 x 6

incline bench press

43 lbs x 8, 65 x 8, 65 x 8

bench press

75 lbs x 10, 90 x 10, 90 x 10

Michael commented during one of my military press sets that I was remembering the positioning cues today. Isn’t that the hard part! The military press still isn’t a favourite and still isn’t my best lift, but nailing technique is so important for success. My incline press was better today, even if I only improved by one rep on the final set. Today I brought the bar down higher on my chest and did a better job of keeping my elbows properly positioned. The bench press was okay, although I did have to verbally tell myself to breathe during the second set and I wasn’t using my legs for every rep. The last set was much better with better breathing and leg drive.

3. TRX rows 2 sets of 20

The shoulder still doesn’t feel quite right, and I’m sure that the hip doesn’t either. I will definitely be doing my homework and some mobility stuff this afternoon. I have an appointment with my chiropractor tomorrow. When I last saw him, he said that my right hip was rather tight and wanted to see that loosen up. Judging by how tight that hip felt at the gym this morning, I have a strong feeling that I’m not going to be given a glowing report tomorrow.

But on a more positive note, Michael and I chatted a bit today about competing next year and what I might like to do. I know that I want to do the BCPA Provincials again, but I wasn’t giving a lot of thought to a local RAW competition, especially upon realizing that those two competitions could potentially be only 2-4 weeks apart. Then Michael asked about potential RAW world record attempts. I started to say that the ship had sailed as I will enter a new age group in January, but then he asked about the records in the new age group. I am the sort of person who knows that sort of information, or at least has quick access to it. In fact, I have it written at the back of my training journal. There are a couple of records that I could very realistically challenge, and that has me buzzing with excitement and possibility. It even makes me believe that I am crazy enough to do two competitions that close together and do them well. Believing I can do it is half the battle.

Leave a Reply

