Wednesday Wiped Out

It is 7:00 in the evening as I am finally able to sit down to blog. I finished work a half hour ago. A great portion of my shift was chaotic, and so my body is feeling exhausted and beat up. I am looking forward to crawling into bed…after I blog, eat, gather my gym gear for tomorrow, assemble my stuff for work in the morning, and decompress a bit…as quickly as possible since my alarm will go off before 5AM.

1a. overhead squats

43 lbs x 6, 63 x 8, 70 x 8

2a. skater squats, holding 5 lb dumbbells

with 2 mats x 10 each leg, with 1 mat x 10 each leg

Ironically, the left leg was stronger and more stable.

2b. bottoms up kettlebell presses

8kg x 10 each, 10kg x 3 left + 4 right + 8kg x 4 each

And predictably the left arm was weaker.

3a. deadlifts with mini red bands

95 lbs x 8, 135 x 8, 165 x 8, 185 x 7

The purpose here, I think, was to work at bringing my hips to the bar, because that is something that I am not so great at doing apparently. You can see a video of my final set at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBFshqQSIeo  (for some reason wordpress isn’t letting me create hyperlinks)

3b. dips

with blue band: x 8, x 8, x 3 + 5 with red band

with red band: x 5

4a. good mornings with a small green band at hip height

45 lbs x 15, 85 lbs x 14

4b. chin ups (how did those get in there?)

large green band x 10

purple band x 7

4c. lying dumbbell extensions

15 lbs x 10, 20 lbs x 8? + 15 lbs x 2

Surprisingly, the right arm was lagging behind during the final set.

The banded good mornings were to work one of my weaknesses. I’m pretty sure that it has to do with getting my hips to the bar quickly. I didn’t mind the banded good mornings, but Michael made a point of saying that we could drop them and do something else if they weren’t working for me. Hmmmm. I made sure to tell him that chin ups don’t seem to be working for me either, so we can drop them. While I’m sure he laughed, I am equally sure that chin ups will still be in my program next week.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

