Friday “Night” Deadlifts

It wasn’t all that long ago that two of my weekly training sessions would take place after I had put in a full day’s work that began at 5 or 5:30 in the morning. There haven’t been too many of those days since starting my new job, since my early work days have mostly been on non-training days. Not all of them though and today was one of those days. Thankfully today was a smoother, better work day than yesterday, although my early starts seldom seem to have a negative effect on my training. Maybe I just love training! Or, possibly the fact that I do train has resulted in increased stamina and energy.

1. overhead squats

43 lbs x 6

63 lbs x 6 This set was a little unstable feeling, and my hang snatch was not so great.

63 lbs x 8 This was much better overall. I got down deeper in the snatch than ever before, and my squats were much more stable, easier.

70 lbs x 6.5 I tried to snatch the bar up a couple of times and couldn’t do it, so Michael gave me some assistance to get the bar overhead. The squats themselves were decent. I was so close to finishing the seventh rep, too.

2a. deadlifts, conventional, touch and go

135 lbs x 10, 185 x 8, 205 x 8

Sometimes I mess up with knowing the weight or counting reps, and sometimes Michael is the one messing up. He added 50 pounds after my 135 pound set, then after I blasted through my reps, he said we could go up to 185. Um…pretty sure I just did 185! So, since it looked like I was feeling strong today, we bumped up to 205 pounds; Michael called it after 8 reps. That set was fairly fast and nearly effortless. Last week’s sets at 195 felt tough, but these were easy. Then Michael asked if we should maybe go up to 225. I felt confident.

225 x 3 + 205 x 3 So 225 pounds might have been a little ambitious, at least for touch and go reps. I feel confident that I could have completed 10 reps if they weren’t touch and go, but the weight was just a little too heavy for the light touches that I’m used to doing. Then Michael decided that we didn’t need to max out on the deadlifts and dropped back to 205. I didn’t get very far though. I guess the 225 pounds took more out of me than I expected, which was kind of ironic considering the conversation we had just a few minutes prior, talking about how long it can take to recover from maximal deadlifts and how I have yet to feel depleted by deadlifts, even after a competition. Of course, my coach is smart with my training, so I’m not allowed to do anything near maximal after a competition, but I felt like I had to eat my own words after only managing 3 reps at 205 after the 225 attempt.

2b. push presses

45 lbs x 8, 55 lbs x 8, 65 x 6, 65 x 6, 65 x 6

It’s no secret that I am not a fan of the push press or military press or overhead pressing in general, but these were actually decent. It’s been a while since I’ve done them, but I’m always happy when an exercise I suck at feels a bit easier than normal.

3a. Romanian deadlifts

135 x 11, 135 x 8, 135 x 12

Three sets doesn’t seem to do justice here. Not only did I do the sets, but there was practice with a dowel, practice with Michael pulling my hips with a band, and just practice without a bar or dowel. I want to pull the bar instead of bringing my hips to the bar. It’s a mental block kind of thing, because even though I understand what I’m supposed to do, my brain just doesn’t think it will work that way. Just another thing to practice with my dowel at home…

3b. torture

Okay, so this wasn’t really called torture, but it may as well have been! Here’s what it was:

with dumbbells while sitting: side laterals, front laterals, then clean and presses

10 lb dumbbells (hahaha!) x 11 side laterals, x 8 front laterals, x 2 c+p plus 8 lbs x 4

There is nothing quite so humbling as pesky little isolation exercises, particularly when they involve my shoulders. Before I did my second set, Michael decided to show me that these weren’t much easier for him. He used 25 pound dumbbells and did 10 reps per exercise, but it wasn’t super easy.

8 lb dumbbells x 18 side laterals, x 10 front laterals, x 5? c+p

Good grief! I’m sure that I could have used 1 pound dumbbells and still struggled by the end. Sure I can squat or deadlift a decent amount of weight, but it is the little weights that make me feel weak.

But I did get some good news. Michael said that he will have a new training program for me on Monday, although he wouldn’t tell me what it will look like. I’m excited to see what the new program will bring, although I suspect that there will be things that aren’t so exciting, but I’ll do what needs doing.

 

2 thoughts on “Friday “Night” Deadlifts”

  1. Okay so I have a question about push press. I just recently started it on my shoulder day and am super confused about form, should I be going to depth as if I’m doing a front squat and then pressing or just to parallel or is it more like a quarter squat just to help overload?

    1. I’m no trainer, but my trainer instructs me to use my legs just enough to initiate momentum to get the bar moving. Your triceps should only come into play to finish the press, not at the beginning. So no depth as if doing a front squat or to parallel. Probably not even quite a quarter squat. Clear as mud? 😉

Leave a Reply

