Short & Sweet

It’s been a long day, and I feel far removed from this morning’s training session. Tomorrow will be an early start for me, which means I really need to get to bed in about an hour, so this is going to be short and sweet.

1. overhead squats

43 lbs x 6, 63 x 6, 70 x 6, 70 x 6

The right shoulder felt kind of tight today and not exactly super stable during these sets, but it behaved well enough to get the reps/sets that I needed. Between the feeling of shoulder instability and too much thinking, I couldn’t hang snatch the bar overhead with 70 pounds today. I did it on Monday, so I know that I can. Just not today. So, I took the bar out of the rack for the final two sets.

2a. inverted rows, competition grip, with legs out straight + with legs bent

x 5 +5, x 4 + 6, x 3 + 7, x 4 + 6, x 2 + 7

These didn’t feel very good today either. I’m not really sure why, but they felt tough. Bodyweight stuff often feels tough.

2b. incline push ups on barbell, competition grip

5 sets of 10

The first couple of sets felt tough, too. Tougher than I thought they should. Michael had me make sure to round my shoulder blades at the top and then pinch them together before descending, and that seemed to make the final sets a bit easier.

3a. bent over barbell rows

75 lbs x 12 with a plate on my back

85 lbs x 10 I didn’t wait for Michael to put the plate on my back this set, and he said that I was much too flat.

85 x 11 Michael got me into the proper angle, although it felt very similar to where I was at the set before. This set was easier though, so I guess he was right.

85 x 8 I stopped after 8 reps, because I was exhausted and the right shoulder felt like it was moving all over the place the last couple of reps.

I was wearing my squat shoes…thinking that may have an impact on the rows.

3b. seated dumbbell presses, with back support

20 lbs x 10, 20 x 10, 25 lbs x 6 + 20 lbs x 1, 25 lbs x 6

I’m not sure why the 25 pound dumbbells feel so heavy here. Is it merely the fact that my shoulders are exhausted after everything else? Or is it the fact that this is an overhead press? I don’t know. On the final set, my left arm failed about midway up. The left arm is usually the weaker one, but it was surprising since the right shoulder was an annoyance all morning.

Leave a Reply

