Squats, Squats & Squats

Thanks to Remembrance Day last Friday, I was able to enjoy a couple of extra days of rest. To be perfectly honest, I don’t actually enjoy having extra rest days, but I know they are important. And sometimes the rest really does a body good!

1. overhead squats, with a 2 second pause at the bottom

43 lbs x 8, 63 x 6, 63 x 6, 70 x 6 PR

I was able to hang snatch the bar for each set. The first three sets were decent, while the last set’s hang snatch was a little rougher, but I’m improving. My biggest problem is usually over-thinking, particularly with movements that I’m not familiar with or are more intricate. I want to get it right, but I need my brain to process all the details before my body is comfortable doing what I want it to do. I am the sort of person who has a length of wooden dowel, which means that I am also the sort of person who will practice hang snatches in my living room.

2a. Anderson squats, high bar

95 lbs x 8, 115 x 3, 145 x 8, 145 x 8, 145 x 8, 145 x 8

Last week I did 145 pounds for my final set, so four sets at that weight is an improvement. The third working set was a little rough and tough, but the final set was much better.

2b. bench press with Swiss bar, touch and go, medium grip

33 lbs x 8, 53 x 7, 73 x 10, 83 x 10, 93 x 6 + 3 with wide grip

These were easier than I expected, I think. Mostly. Somehow I didn’t realize what weight was actually on the bar for the fourth set. My hands were slippery on the final set, so I got stuck on what should have been the seventh rep.

3a. chest supported rows

12kg kettlebells x 12, 12kg x 15, 12kg x 20

3b. incline dumbbell presses

29 lbs x 10 x 2 sets

3c. barbell split squats (wearing flat shoes)

95 lbs x 10 each leg x 2 sets

The first set felt tough, likely due to the overhead squats and the Anderson squats.

Leave a Reply

