Two in One

With Remembrance Day on Friday and other considerations, this morning’s training session was a combination of two sessions in one. Although the total number of exercises performed wasn’t really any different, I was completely wiped out by 9:00 in the morning and I still have a full day of work ahead of me.

1. overhead squats

43 lbs x 5 or 6, 53 lbs x 3, 63 x 6, 63 x 6, 63 x 6

Today I sort of snatched the bar overhead. I say ‘sort of’ because it wasn’t perfect or pretty.

2a. deadlifts, conventional, touch and go

115 lbs x 10, 165 x 10, 185 x 10, 195 x 10, 195 x 6 + 4, 195 x 7

The broken set at 195 was due to a cardio issue, I think, or maybe cardio and fatigue. Michael pointed out that I needed to take a breath at the top of each rep, that I was holding my breath too long. He’s probably right, even though I feel as if I am breathing. But I did make sure to breathe at the top during the final set. Honestly, the set just felt hard and I felt tired. As much as I wanted to complete all the reps, my body wanted to stop. I think being more conscious of my breathing at the top slowed things down enough that the constant tension of touch and go reps fatigued the muscles more quickly.

2b. push ups

x 5 on my knees + 5 real push ups with chest touching the floor

x 5 chest to floor + 5 with 4 second eccentric to floor, then on knees to push up explosively. This was Michael’s solution to get enough work in knowing that I’d not get many reps solely doing chest to floor push ups. Honestly, I think the adaptation was tougher. My explosive pushes from the knees weren’t very explosive by the end!

x 5 + 5

x 4 + 4

x 11 chest to floor using the slingshot. Michael really would have liked 15 reps, but the left shoulder was moving funky for the last two reps and I ran out of juice.

3a. seated dumbbell presses with back support

20 lbs x 9, 25 lbs x 5 + 20 lbs x 3

These just felt heavy today.

3b. a deadlift variation…without really changing back position, lift the bar to just above my knees then back down to just off the floor, repeat…all about using the legs

115 lbs x 7, 115 x 10

 

 

Leave a Reply

