Overhead Dreaming

“You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.” ~CS Lewis

I have previously shared about feeling lost in this period of off-season training. Just a few days ago, my coach and I settled on a new goal to develop an overhead squat comparable to my bench press, while continuing to build my foundation with hypertrophy training. Michael explained again the importance of changing up my training, of not always focusing on the competition lifts or training heavy. I suspect that he was feeling out what was fueling my need for a new challenge, possibly even wondering if I was simply missing the thrill of competing.

Admittedly, I do miss the thrill of competing; however, I whole-heartedly understand the need to change up the training. While I cannot claim to understand all of the nuances of training, I do see the perils in always training heavy and only working limited movements. I see the importance in variety in movement, intensity and volume. I can miss my competition lifts, while still finding enjoyment in the changes to my program. Maybe high volume sets aren’t always enjoyable, but I am definitely not bored at the gym!

I love competing, but I am okay with having an off-season. What I am missing most is having something specific to work towards, a tangible goal to focus on, to envision and strive for. A competition can give me a goal to work for with a deadline, but that doesn’t mean that I cannot find the same enjoyment from pursuing a non-competition goal. My problem was that I didn’t have a goal…until now. There is no specific deadline, and the goal isn’t going to consume my training. However, this goal presents a respectable level of difficulty and challenge. It’s actually quite intimidating and scary. On Friday, I held 90 pounds overhead and squatted. I just realized that I have probably never held that much weight overhead! My best bench press is 132 pounds. Can I get to the point where I can overhead squat that much? I don’t know. That seems like a really big goal, but I am excited to strive for it.

Leave a Reply

