14 000+ Pounds Pulled

It has been about an hour since I finished my early morning training session. I start work in an hour and a half, and I sincerely hope that my muscles will have stopped quivering by then, although I highly doubt it. While it may only be 10:00 AM, I feel completely wiped out, but I have eaten enough to satisfy a small hippopotamus. For now.

1. deadlifts, conventional, touch and go, maximum of 2 minutes rest between sets

75 lbs x 10, 125 x 8, 165 x 10

175 lbs x 10 x 5 sets

This was slightly more weight and volume than last week, and it was still all about pushing with my legs and bringing my hips to the bar instead of pulling with my back. For the most part, I think my form was pretty good today, but the short rest between sets had me breathing hard.

2. stiff-legged deadlifts

95 lbs x 10, 95 x 10

Michael seemed to think that I was using too much back and not enough hamstrings and glutes. After the second set, when he asked me if I felt the difference and I said a little, he changed things up a bit. For some reason Michael interprets my “a little” response as meaning “not really”. I suppose he knows me well enough to be able to read me that easily, but sometimes I actually do feel what he wants me to feel a little. This was one of those times. I did feel my glutes and hamstrings working, although I can admit that my brain doesn’t always easily grasp the concept of the movement. So, he had me do the stiff-legged deadlifts with a kettlebell.

24kg x 20 x 4 sets

3a. barbell rows, underhand grip

75 lbs x 12

75 x 10  Michael put a plate on my lower back again. My body so wants to cheat. The last few reps were tough, because my upper body was creeping up and the plate was beginning to slide.

75 x 10

3b. glute-ham raises

x 10, x 11, x 12

Normally I love glute-ham raises, but these weren’t so easy today. Guess I was working those glutes and hamstrings!

3c. ab wheel

3 sets of 10

While these were not as brutal as the last time I did them, I did experience some discomfort in my abdominals. About midway through each set, my abs began to feel as if they were going to rip apart. Not literally, of course, but I’m not used to that feeling while using the ab wheel. It didn’t seem to matter how far out I rolled, but maybe it was just fatigue since the feeling began midway through each set.

I don’t usually drink a lot of coffee when I am at work, but I think I just might need to have a cup before I start today. Could I survive without it? Absolutely! But I think it is going to be a long day and I could use a boost. A hot tub would also be nice, but I don’t have one of those.

Leave a Reply

