Volume Isn’t Just For Hair

I think I have a long day ahead of me. Tonight is my first solo “in charge” closing shift at work, and that stresses me out more than my first open shift did and I had a sleepless night before my open! Generally I slept well enough last night, although I did have some horrible dreams. They weren’t work-related, but dreaming of witnessing murders is never a fun way to be woken up at 4:00. Since I am closing tonight, I had to do my training this morning, early this morning at 8:00. It wasn’t too much of a stretch for me, but the high volume has me feeling a little wiped out and it isn’t even 10:00 yet.

1a. deadlifts, conventional

75 lbs x 10, 115 x 10, 135 x 10, 155 x 10, 155 x 10, 165 x 10, 165 x 10

I used straps beginning with 135 pounds, because Michael wanted me to focus on perfect technique without grip ever being an issue.

1b. overhead press…not sure what the proper name is but I had to slide the bar up against the rack as I pressed, with a split stance

43 x 10, 48 x 9, 43 x 10, 43 x 10, 43 x 8, 43 x 7

I don’t really know why these felt tough. I was supposed to do sets of 10, but Michael didn’t want any grinding reps which is why I dropped reps the last two sets. The right shoulder may not be feeling perfect yet, but it is significantly improved compared to Monday; however, my right trap is rather sore and I couldn’t figure it why until I was at the gym. It is due to the homework given to me by my chiropractor, I think!

2a. stiff legged deadlifts, with straps

115 lbs x 10 x 4 sets

The weight wasn’t super challenging, but it really wasn’t supposed to be. It’s all about putting in the work and practicing the technique.

2b. seated lat pulldowns with neutral grip straight bar

70 lbs x 12, 80 lbs x 12, 80 x 12

I ran into some forward shoulder dumping late in the final set.

2c. GHD situps

2 sets of 12

The first set was easy. The second set was done with my hands at my head, so slightly more challenging. Not the most challenging situps I’ve ever done but enough for the end of a high volume session.

Now I need food!

Leave a Reply

