Turn Up the Volume

My coach warned me last night that my training will be light in weight but heavy in volume for the next while, so I should bring my appetite. Unfortunately, he wasn’t offering to feed me at the gym. Thankfully I am in a season of enjoying food right now, although I’m typically not overly hungry while I am at work. Fair warning though, I tend to get a little hangry by the time I am finished work, particularly on days like today where I trained in the morning before work.

1a. front squats

45 lbs x 10, 75 x 6, 95 x 10, 95 x 10, 105 x 10, 105 x 10

Just as I was warned, the weight was low but the reps were high. I had to keep my reps fast and crisp, no grinders.

1b. single arm dumbbell presses

20 lbs x 10 each, 25 lbs x 8 each, 20 lbs x 10 each, 20 x 10 each, 15 lbs x 11 each

I really shouldn’t have jumped up on weight for the second set, since Michael wanted 10-12 reps. The right shoulder handled the pressing well enough, but fatigue and a feeling of strained effort were factors. I don’t like dropping weight, but I did on the last set in order to stay in the asked for rep range.

2a. glute ham raises

4 sets of 12

The intention was to do 5 sets of these. While I marked five down in my training log, I am really not certain that I got that final set in. Same goes for the rows.

2b. single arm dumbbell rows

40 lbs x 12, 40 x 12, 30 lbs x 12, 30 x 12

I am capable of using more weight for these; however, given the current state of my shoulder, I was expecting 40 pounds to feel tough. The rows were easier than expected.

3a. triceps pulldowns

30 lbs x 15

3b. dumbbell curls

15 lbs x 15

And it wasn’t until just now that I realized that my training session didn’t feel like a typical upper body day. I’m okay with that!

Leave a Reply

