Thanksgiving Squats

From time to time Michael will have me warm-up with some skipping. I often feel slightly chagrined every time I am required to skip. It’s not that I can’t skip, because I definitely can. I’m just not consistent in my ability to skip without frequent trip ups. Today was one of those days where I felt the sting of a dozen lashes as the skipping rope slashed at my arms and legs. Maybe I had too much turkey and pumpkin pie last night?

1a. squats, high bar, squat shoes, no sleeves

45 lbs x 8, 95 x 8, 125 x 6, 155 x 6, 175 x 6, 175 x 5

I was supposed to focus on ensuring that I was using my legs and pushing right out of the hole instead of waiting until I exhausted my elastic energy. I think the first few sets were okay, but I ran into some snags in the latter sets.

135 x 6

With this set I was a bit slower and more controlled with my movement, trying to focus on keeping the bar over the middle of my feet.

135 x 6

This set was better.

155 x 6

The first three reps were good, but I had trouble with core and upper back tension for the final three reps.

155 x 6 with belt

I don’t think I’ve used my belt since competing at Westerns almost two months ago, and I had to set it one notch larger than normal. The change in notches doesn’t bother me. I think this set was mostly better, although the last rep was kind of ugly.

1b. military press

43 lbs x 8, 53 x 8, 63 x 5

Last week I did a PR of 5 reps with 63 pounds, so I approached the bar with 63 pounds today with the expectation that I would get 6 reps. Michael called it after the fifth. I was a little frustrated with that set, because I wanted that extra rep. I know that Michael made the right call in shutting the set down when he did. As much as I wanted 6 reps, that would have been a grinder if I had even made it.

63 x 4 + 1

See! I ran into trouble and couldn’t get 5 reps on the next set, although last week I only managed to follow up the PR with sets of 3, so I’ll take this as a small improvement.

63 x 4, 53 x 8, 53 x 7

2a. more squats

This time I had to descend over 4 seconds, pause, and then rise over 4 seconds. The purpose of this was to really feel the bar positioning over my feet and to get my quads engaged in my squat.

95 lbs x 5

95 x 6

I definitely felt my quads with these two sets. The slow pace sure made the weight feel heavier than it really was though.

2b. braced single arm dumbbell presses

25 lbs x 8 each x 2 sets

3. ab wheel

2 sets of 8

It was quite obvious that I haven’t done the ab wheel for a while!

 

 

Leave a Reply

