Dippity-do-da!

It’s an odd kind of day. For the first time since I changed jobs, I had a Wednesday off. That wasn’t how my schedule was supposed to look, but I had to cover a shift on Monday and was given today off instead. It was nice to not feel stressed about completing all of my morning training session and getting to work on time. As I drove to the gym, I honestly didn’t feel any fear or trepidation even though I knew it was upper body day. Seriously? I was actually looking forward to my upper body day.

Michael had me do some Turkish get-ups for a warm-up and to see how heavy I could go.

8kg kettlebell x 3 each side, 10kg x 3 each, 12kg x 1 each, 16kg x 1 each

I’m pretty sure that I’ve never used 16kg for Turkish get-ups before. I definitely had a bit of trouble getting the upper body up off the floor with the kettlebell in the right hand, but I was fine once I got past that point.

1a. front rack reverse lunges

43 lbs x 16, 73 x 16, 83 x 16, 93 x 16

1b. close grip bench press, touch and go

45 lbs x 10, 65 x 8, 85 x 6, 105 x 6, 105 x 5

90 x 9 AMRAP

I’m not much of a fan of the touch and go reps, but these were most likely some of my best. I also think I did a better job of not snapping my elbows at the lock-out as I tend to do.

2a. supine rows using Swiss bar, wide grip

5 with legs extended + 8 with knees bent, 5 + 6, 4 + 7

3a. dips

Michael suggested possibly trying some unassisted dips. Say what?! But first he had me do two reps with a red band.

unassisted x 5!

I was skeptical. I thought that I might be able to do one unassisted, but I honestly didn’t think I’d get more than that. After I did the second rep and then the third, I realized that I was more capable than I had thought and I remembered that one of my goals was to do unassisted dips, like possibly 5 reps. There was no way that I wasn’t going to get 5.

a second set of 5 unassisted reps!

with blue band x 10 AMRAP

3b. one arm rows

50 lbs x 10 each, x 10 each, x 12 each

I am stoked about the dips, and I made sure to check it off in my little book of goals once I got home. Even though I made it a goal to do unassisted dips, there wasn’t any real anticipation that I would achieve it anytime soon. Dips are something that Michael has me do from time to time but not necessarily frequently or consistently. My willingness to try new or challenging things doesn’t mean that I am always confident in my ability to actually do it. When there is some degree of doubt, success is that much sweeter!

 

Leave a Reply

