A Good Story

goodstory

Isn’t that a great quote? I am a big Doctor Who fan, so I have heard this quote many times. (Yes, I am the sort of person who can and will re-watch favourite shows quite often!) This meme came across my Facebook feed this evening, and I fell in love with the quote all over again.

It’s true, you know. We are all stories. We are born. We are on this earth for an unknown number of days. In between the day of our birth and the day of our death, we live a life. This life is uniquely our own. There are high points, low points, good ones and bad. Some of us might have experiences that we would classify as nightmares, while others seem to sail smoothly through life with a permanent smile. Regardless of our experiences, our lives tell a story and someone needs to hear it.

We are all stories, so make yours a good one! But I don’t think it is enough to be content with merely making our stories good ones. We need to share our stories. Stories have power. Do you remember your favourite childhood stories? Why do you remember them? What about your favourite books as an adult? Your favourite television shows or movies? What is it about them that keeps you coming back? I think it is the story, the characters and the lives that they live.

One of my favourite books (and movie) of all time is To Kill a Mockingbird. As much as I am a major Star Wars fan, I also very much appreciate the movie Schindler’s List. Both tell incredible stories with characters that one is able to connect with on an intensely personal level. The fact that I am far removed from either time period has no bearing on the impact both of these stories has on me. One is a work of fiction, while the other has a foundation of reality. Stories…

I am a story. You are a story. Let’s make our stories good ones, shall we!

Leave a Reply

