Pushing Wednesday

This morning’s upper body session felt different somehow, and I’m not wholly certain why I feel that way. At first I was ready to type out a comment about the upper body stuff being easier today, then I paused to reflect on what I actually did ten hours ago and remembered that it wasn’t really easier at all. It wasn’t any harder, although I have a decent measure of frustration with the push presses. Those took me by surprise…wasn’t expecting to have push presses today when I did military presses on Monday! We also ran out of time and couldn’t get to everything that Michael wanted me to do.

1a. push presses

45 lbs x 10, 55 x 8, 65 x 6, 75 x 4, 75 x 4? + 3 or 4 bottom half push presses

bottom half push presses 65 x 6

I had some issues with the push press today. Sometimes I wasn’t using enough speed. Other times I was pushing the bar forward out of a strong path. Mostly I wasn’t getting enough power out of my legs, which is why there were some bottom half push presses for practice.

1b. barbell seal rows

75 lbs x 15, 95 x 10, 105 x 7, 105 x 7

2a. close grip floor press with the fat bar

75 lbs x 10, 90 x 8, 100 x 8, 100 x 6

2b. chin-ups, neutral grip

large green band x 8, x 8

small green band x 5, x 4

I get to go to the gym again tomorrow straight after work instead of on Friday, which means my brain has been mentally laying out my day tomorrow and all that I will need to have ready before leaving for work. Mostly that means I definitely need a game plan for food!

 

Leave a Reply

