Settling In

Here I am again at the end of another long Wednesday. It is currently 7:15PM, yet it feels so much later. However, I have to say that it has been a rather good day. Being Wednesday, I trained upper body this morning, which is often a struggle, and then I worked a full day. But, the work day went well and I actually felt mostly comfortable in my roles. I am remembering more drinks and steps with every shift, which makes me feel less stressed out and able to interact more with the customers. In fact, I actually had a customer address me by name and inquire about my tattoo. I think it is safe to say that I no longer ask myself what the heck I was thinking in changing jobs and I no longer feel like I might have made a mistake! There is still a great deal for me to learn, but I know I’ll get it. I can do this!

1a. flat dumbbell presses

20 lbs x 10, 25 lbs x 8, 29 lbs x 8, 34 lbs x 8, 34 x 10, 39 lbs x 6 PR?!

Now I’m too tired and unmotivated to dig out my older training logs from prior to May 14 of this year, but I have a feeling that the set with 39 pounds is a personal record.

I sometimes have a tendency to finish my lockout a little too sharply, which isn’t too great for the elbows apparently. So, Michael had me do one more set but without full lockout extension in order to keep the muscles under tension.

29 lbs x 13

1b. chin-ups, neutral grip

an easy warm-up with both the large and small green bands x 6

small green band x 8

Then Michael changed it up and told me to do ladder sets of 2, 3, and 5 reps.

small green band x 2, x 3, x 5, x 2, x 3

2a. dips, with a narrower grip

large green band x 8

small green band x 8, x 8

2b. barbell seal rows

75 lbs x 15, 95 lbs x 12, 100 lbs x 10

Apparently I cheated a little with my upper body rather than using my hips. I thought I was keeping my upper body down more! Still, last week I did three sets all at 75 pounds, so there was improvement, and honestly, I probably performed them in much the same way.

3a. close grip pin presses

45 lbs x 8, 95 lbs x 6, 95 x 8, 95 x 6

So funny-ish story here…I did the warm-up set with the bar, and Michael told me to stay on the bench while he added weight to the bar for the next set. I wasn’t paying too much attention to what he was actually putting on the bar, so I just assumed he put on 10-pound plates. I set myself to begin the next set and could not move the bar! It was then that I noticed he had actually put on 25-pound plates. I reset myself and still couldn’t move the bar. By this time Michael was watching, seeing me not moving the bar. I told him I’d get it, reset myself for a third time and pushed with all my might, and the bar finally began to move.

3b. rear delt pull-aparts, with a red band and shoulders slouched forward

x 20, x 20, x 20

So, upper body day still presented me with plenty of challenge, but there were also a good deal of positives to be found. I am often intimidated by the 25-pound dumbbells, so the fact that I had a decent set of presses with 39-pound dumbbells made my morning! Chin-ups are usually a source of frustration as it feels like there is never improvement. While it may still seem like there isn’t improvement, at least the ladder sets prevented me from actually becoming frustrated with a rapid drop in reps. The dips were pretty good today, too.

Leave a Reply

