Rainy Day Squats

Today is Monday. It rained for a good chunk of the day. I started work fairly early, and I experienced my first huge rush while I was working the bar. Still, I think it was a good day. I love the rain. My body is still used to getting up early, and I had support to help me through the rush. There are still drinks that throw me out-of-sync or that I am not confident making, but I think I am remembering more than I am forgetting now. I hope. After work, I got to go to the gym. I knew that squats would be on the agenda, but I expected them to be safety bar box squats since that has been what I’ve been doing since Westerns. Hey! I just realized that it has been exactly a month since Westerns, but I digress. When Michael said I’d be doing normal squats, I got a little excited!

1a. high bar squats, no sleeves, flat shoes,

45 lbs x 8, 95 x 6, 135 x 6, 155 x 6, 170 x 5, 170 x 5, 170 x 4

After four weeks of squatting with the safety bar, I struggled a bit today with these high bar squats. My depth was definitely not in doubt, as I found myself getting quite low more often than not and unintentionally. I also had a lot of trouble with pitching forward, both my feet (usually the right but not solely…see what I did there?) and the bar. The weight shouldn’t have been too challenging, but the struggle was definitely with form.

Then Michael suggested a cardio set of 20 reps and I agreed, although I’m not sure that he was actually asking for my agreement.

115 lbs x 20

It’s been a very, very long time since I’ve done a 20 rep set of squats, so I expected this to be more difficult than it turned out to be. The weight was light, and that was perfectly fine by me.

1b. military press

43 lbs x 8, 53 x 6, 63 x 3 + 3 push presses

push press

63 lbs x 5, 73 x 3, 83 x 0, 83 x 1

1c. top half military press

73 lbs x 6, 73 x 8, 73 x 6

2a. pause squats

135 lbs x 4 reps with 4 second pauses

115 lbs pause squat for 10 breaths…had no problem holding form for the lengthy pause but I could not get up. Michael even tried helping me by lifting the bar slightly, but I still could not get my legs to unfold to push myself up.

3a. triceps extensions using rope handle with 20 lbs of chain

standing: x 12, 12, x 8? + 14 laying on bench

3b. lying rear laterals

8 lb dumbbells x 20, 10 lb dumbbells x 15, x 15

I may not be a fan of the rear laterals, but I am getting stronger at them, even if only a little.

3c. band pull-apart hold for 8 seconds with orange band

3 sets of 3 reps

The days where I leave the gym feeling like I didn’t do anything are so rare that I may as well say that they never happen. Today was SO NOT one of those days! I feel like I trained absolutely everything, and I pretty much did. I could barely lift my arms to put my hoodie on, and stiffness is already creeping into my legs. As much as I moaning and groaning right now, an hour and a half later, I love the hard work! Of course, that didn’t stop me from slipping into my winter pyjama pants as soon as I got home. This is the first time I’ve pulled my winter pyjamas out of the drawer since early spring, and I might regret my decision in the middle of the night. That’s okay. Right now I just want to feel comfy, cozy and warm. I love Fall!

Leave a Reply

