Sumo & Skinned Knees

Fridays are typically deadlift days for me, and today was no exception, which also means that I lost a layer or two of skin from one knee and have a couple of lovely little bruises to make up for the missing skin. I guess that’s okay. Skin will grow back, and I am always happy to lift heavy things.

1a. single arm kettle bell presses

10kg x 8 each with a carry of 3 lengths

12kg x 5 each with shrugs…the left arm struggled, always the left arm

25 lb dumbbells x 9 each, no shrugs

1b. sumo deadlifts

95 lbs x 7, 145 x 5

with straps: 185 x 6, 205 x 5, 205 x 5, 205 x 4, 185 x 5, 185 x 5

There was a lot of attention given to form today. Okay, so I have a good coach who always teaches proper form and is constantly working to correct imperfections and flaws. I appreciate that immensely, because it is really for my own good.

1c. incline push-ups on a barbell

x 8

with a length of chain around my neck: x 4 + 4 without chain x 2 sets

2a. Romanian deadlifts

95 lbs x 12-15?, x 11

2b. back extensions

x 15, x 15

2c. Yates rows

115 lbs x 12, 115 x 15

Leave a Reply

