Routine Chaos

You don’t truly realize how important your routines are until something comes along and throws those routines into chaos. I have no regrets about changing my job, but my carefully constructed routines have definitely been disrupted and I’m still trying to adapt. I haven’t been sleeping well. Regardless of how exhausted I am, falling asleep is like running a marathon…uncomfortable, gruelling, and taking a long time to reach the finish line. Then I wake up frequently between 2:00AM and whatever time my alarm is set for. My routines for drinking water and coffee and eating my meals have been upset the most, I think, because my old work schedule was essentially the same, day in and day out, that it was easy to find a routine, a rhythm that fit. Right now my days off work are not consistent, and that throws off my old routines for doing laundry, housework, errands and scheduling appointments. My gym training times haven’t been affected as much, but they are by no means immune to this season of chaos. Today I was at the gym in the morning instead of later in the afternoon. Not that big of a deal. Eventually, I think, there will be a sense of order and routine in my life once more.

1a. safety bar box squats, with flat shoes, with a full pause on the box to unload the weight unlike the previous weeks where it was only a touch on the box

75 lbs x 8, 125 x 8, 145 x 8, 155 x 7, 155 x 6, 145 x 8

using a sumo stance: 125 x 10

Pausing to actually sit on the box and unload the weight certainly made these more challenging. I worked up to less weight today than I did last week, but today’s sets were tougher. When Michael told me to do the final set with a wider, sumo-type stance, I expected the set to feel even harder; however, it actually felt easier. Michael made sure I realized that he had dropped the weight for that set, which I had been aware of, but I still feel like the set was easier, regardless of the difference in weight.

1b. military press

45 lbs x 8, 55 x 8, 60 x 6, 60 x 6, 60 x 6

50 x 9 AMRAP

You know, I wasn’t convinced that there would ever be a day when the military press wouldn’t intimidate me. Okay, so maybe I’m not completely unafraid of the military press yet, but I think I am finally feeling confidence in my ability to press overhead. These past few weeks have seen me make progress with my military press that I used to think was impossible for me to achieve. I am 99.9% certain that I have never done so many reps with 60 pounds before. My technique, while probably still not always perfect, is so much better than and more consistent than it has ever been. I honestly do not know what has suddenly clicked inside of my brain, but I am glad that the military press mental block seems to be diminishing.

2a. safety bar split squats

75 lbs x 10 each leg, 100 lbs x 10 each leg

Can I just take a moment to say that I do not like the safety bar? Seriously. When I said this out loud this morning, probably between these split squat sets, Michael pointed out that I probably wouldn’t be much of a fan of a regular bar right about this time either. Yeah.

2b. standing single arm kettlebell presses, elbow out to the side

10kg x 10 each side x 2 sets

The second set was easier than the first.

2c. TRX hamstring curls

2 sets of 15

My knees were close together during the first set, and Michael instructed me to have a little separation of the knees during the second set. It doesn’t matter which way I did them…my hamstrings are going to feel it tomorrow!

3. a plank, in the push-up position, with a 35 pound plate on my lower back

held it for about 40 seconds

Of course, that time is based off of what Michael said, and I’m not quite sure if I can trust his judgement in telling time. He counted down the final 10 seconds, and I know his count got slower and slower. It rather felt like the final 10 seconds lasted at least 20!

 

Leave a Reply

