Yawning Through the Workout

I had it all planned out. I thought I was finally getting an idea of a new routine. I was going to grab myself a coffee when I finished work, before rushing home to get ready for my training session. That was the plan, and I was halfway home before I realized that I had forgotten to grab a coffee. With no time to make a cup at home, I went to my training session uncaffeinated, which doesn’t happen very often. While I felt reasonably alert up until that point, I definitely noticed the difference in my energy and alertness once I started training. If yawning was an exercise…

1. front squats, in flat shoes

75 lbs x 6, 105 x 6, 125 x 6, 125 x 6

These were rather easy, but they weren’t supposed to be challenging. Just a warm up.

2a. snatch grip deadlifts

95 lbs x 8

with straps: 135 x 8, 165 x 8, 185 x 6, 195 x 4

165 x 8 touch and go

The set at 195 should have been a set of 6. I was mentally prepared to do the full number of reps, but something just didn’t feel right as I went to pull for the fifth rep. Michael asked what happened, because I guess everything had been looking good to that point. I can’t really explain it. I think I lost tension in my core and, as I already mentioned, it just didn’t feel right. So, we dropped the weight and switched to ‘touch and go’ reps for the final set to ensure that I kept the tension and nailed the technique.

2b. Savickas presses

45 lbs x 8, 45 x 8, 50 x 8, 50 x 8

This was the first time I’ve ever done these, and I was quite skeptical when Michael was describing/demonstrating it for me. The military press and I don’t like each other much, and here Michael wanted me to do military presses while sitting on the floor…right! But I cannot think of a single instance when my coach has asked me to do something that I was absolutely incapable of doing. Of course, I don’t always remember that fact in the moment he tells me to do something that I perceive as difficult! I thought the second set was going to be hard. I groaned when Michael suggested I increase the weight on the third set, and yet, this was much easier than I expected! Why did I even doubt?

3a. sumo RDLs

135 lbs x 10, x ? maybe 15 (my technique was off, so I lost track of the reps as Michael corrected my form), x 10

3b. rope pull throughs

40 lbs x 12, x 20, x 20

3c. reverse incline flyes

8 lbs x 15, 10 lbs x 15, 10 x 14

Here is another example of something that my coach tells me to do that I doubt I am capable of doing. I groaned a little as soon as he told me what to do. I groaned even more when he told me to use the 10 pound dumbbells, but I was able to do more reps than I thought possible.

And here I am now, nearly 8:00 at night, taking forever to type out this blog, drinking some white wine and enjoying my salad brownie, yawning big yawns and swiping at the random tear that spills from the corner of my tired eyes. It’s not very often that I am this exhausted, but I’ve been this way almost every night this week. I think it can only be a result of all of the learning I’ve been doing at my new job, because I’m definitely used to working full days, even crazy, hectic days and I’ve never been as tired as I am now, this week. Yes, I’ve had significantly less coffee than normal this week, even for my normal routine of 2 cups a day, but this fatigue goes beyond a shortage of coffee. My brain is absolutely fried. I wasn’t certain that I even knew my own name. Thankfully, my coach reminded that me that I am Ang, then he told me that food and rest will do wonders. Sounds good to me! Hello, weekend!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

