Labour Day

It’s Labour Day and my final day of unemployed vacation. The past six days have been quite nice. I might not have done anything exciting; however, it has been so good to just go about normal things, to just be without the confines of a work schedule. I suppose I’ve also been deprogramming my body a bit, learning how to go to bed later in the evening and to sleep past 4:00 in the morning, or at least to fall back asleep after waking up at 4! While there very well could be some early starts with my new job, I don’t have any super early ones for at least the first two weeks. It will be an adjustment to work later in the day, since I’m used to being done no later than 2pm. Still, I am excited about the new job and confident that it will be a good change. Tomorrow is a short afternoon shift, possibly more orientation than actual training, but I am looking forward to it regardless. One thing that will definitely take some getting used to will be how my new schedule will affect the rest of life. Like dinner prep. I will need to use my crockpot a lot more often, I think, but I’m also going to have to actually just plan ahead, which seems to be a struggle when it comes to food.

1a. box squats with the safety bar, flat shoes

75 lbs x 8, 125 x 8, 145 x 8, 165 x 8, 165 x 8

I think these were slightly better, easier than last week’s sets at 155 pounds. Definitely felt the abs working more during the final two sets today. Still, my ears perked up when Michael mentioned that we might say good-bye to the box next week!

pause squats with safety bar, 2 second pause

125 x 6, 135 x 6

I love the pause squats. Even with the safety bar. Even when the legs feel trashed.

1b. single arm bottom’s up kettlebell presses

6kg x 10 each, 8kg x 8 each, 10kg x 5 each

military press

43 x 6, 52 x 8, 54 x 8, 59 x 5, 59 x 5, 59 x 4 + 57 x 3

These didn’t feel quite as strong and easy as they did last week, but I have to believe that they are still a marked improvement. The set at 54 pounds started out very well, but my body position straightened out as the set progressed, disrupting the bar path and making it tougher. While I did a better job leaning back for the first set at 59 pounds, this time I ran into problems with my elbow positioning being behind the bar. The second set at 59 was much better.

2a. split squats with safety bar

95 lbs x 8 each, 95 x 10 each

2b. toes to bar, with chalk because my hands were super sweaty

x 6, x 4 + 10 knee raises with extension

 

Leave a Reply

