Stayin’ Alive!

As I lay in bed trying to fall asleep last night, a dozen thoughts swirled within my brain. One thought that stuck out with a sheen of importance was the question of how I’m doing on my theme and goals for 2016. I guess we are now 3/4 of the way through the year and, while I don’t usually check in with my yearly theme much during the course of a year, I think doing so is a good idea. My theme for this year is Alive!, based mostly on the following quote:

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” -Howard Thurman

You can read the whole new year blog post here, but here is an overview of my goals (and my progress) for this year:

  • do a handstand push-up (Three competitions in a few months kind of took precedence, so this goal slipped through the cracks.)
  • do 25 push-ups (Competition training again! However, it would be interesting to see how many I could do if I were fresh.)
  • do 5 unassisted chin-ups (There’s that competition training yet again! Ha! But I did do 2 unassisted chin-ups earlier in the year, which I view as success with this goal. Two might not equal five, but two is more than one or none!)
  • do 5 unassisted dips (You guessed it! Competition training.)
  • deadlift 3 plates (So close but not quite there yet. Since we really never max out my deadlift in the gym, this one might not be confirmed until next year.)
  • break my 2 BCPA records and break the ones I haven’t yet (I failed to break my own BCPA bench press record at Westerns, but I did break my own BCPA squat and total records. I also broke the deadlift record at Westerns, which I failed to do at Provincials.)
  • break my own National records and set a class 1 total in RAW (I did set a class 1 total in 100% RAW, and I broke my own squat and total records. Unfortunately, someone else broke my records for the bench press and deadlift. I guess that’s okay.)
  • compete 2-4 times (3 competitions completed!)
  • declutter, purge and simplify (Decluttering and purging is an ongoing process, but I am definitely feeling the need to make a bigger dent in our stuff this fall.)
  • use my gifts and talents (I think I’m doing a fair job with this one, although I still doubt myself and my talents.)
  • continue to step outside of that comfort zone (I’d say quitting my job of 11 years and starting a new job fits the description.)
  • love more (This is a subjective goal, but I think I’m doing okay here, too.)

Alive!

There have been times throughout this year where I have lost sight of what my theme has been. Unlike last year, I didn’t have an actual visual posted on my wall to remind me of my focus and, quite honestly, the past several months have been rather crazy with busyness and an emotional roller-coaster ride. So here I am reviewing my yearly goals. I think I’m on the right track, probably more so than ever before.

Leave a Reply

