Feeding the Beast

I am starving. It’s been over an hour since I finished my training session. My husband is making dinner (actually breakfast for dinner!), and I am in danger of being consumed from the inside out. Actually, I’ve been nothing but hungry for days. I thought powerlifter training resulted in a raging appetite, but this high volume stuff seems to have the same effect. I consumed so much food yesterday to the point that my son with the bottomless pit of a stomach questioned me when I declared I was once again hungry before bed. Apparently my appetite should settle down soon, or so I’ve been told.

1a. deadlifts, snatch grip with straps after the first set

95 lbs x 10, 135 x 8, 155 x 8, 165 x 8

As is frequently the case when I am deadlifting, I had some issues with thigh gap, as in too much of a gap between the bar and my thighs. Michael filmed the set at 155, so that he could show me just how far the bar was from my thighs. The following set was better. Michael pointed out that I was locking my knees too early, and that explanation seemed to click mentally for me.

175 x 8 with a blue band around my hips and Michael pulling on the band, so I had to pull my hips forward against the resistance

185 x 6 again with the band

With the cue about not locking my knees and the need to pull my hips against the resistance of the band, the last two sets were much better. While I could have done 8 reps on the last set, Michael wanted me to leave 2 reps in the tank.

1b. incline dumbbell presses

20 lbs x 10, 34 x 6, 29 x 9, 29 x 10, 29 x 9, 29 x 10

We went with 34 pounds for the second set, because I had written 34 pounds for my final set of these last week. After struggling through 6 reps, Michael questioned the accuracy of what I had written last week. I suppose it does seem odd that we would have jumped from 25 pounds to 34 pounds, so maybe I did make a mistake and it should have said 29 pounds. As for the remaining sets today, I’m not sure why my sets ended up alternating between 9 and 10 reps. It wasn’t intentional. I was going for 10 every set, but the arms didn’t always cooperate.

2a. hip thrusts with a 1 second pause at top of each rep

115 lbs x 13, 145 x 15, 165 x 15

2b. rack pulls, with straps

135 lbs x 9, 185 x 8, 205 x 4 + 185 x 3

The first two sets were easy, so easy, but not so at 205 pounds! While I’m sure I could have done quite a few more reps on the second set, I struggled to get four at 205. Michael dropped the weight, but I could only get another 3. My back was just done.

And speaking of done…my dinner was ready a while ago, and I scarfed it down between typing out paragraphs. How pathetic is it that I was already thinking about what I could eat after dinner while I was still eating dinner?

Leave a Reply

