Wiped Out by Cardio

It is already past my bedtime, so I am going to try to write this blog quickly, which really means that I have to try not to let my focus shift to the TV where my husband is watching American Ninja Warrior. As much as I need to get to bed because my alarm will ring at 4:00 AM, tomorrow is my Friday and my final day at Tim Hortons. My night owl is awake, but I do need to get some sleep.

1a. box squats-no sleeves, flat shoes, with safety bar

75 x 10, 125 x 8, 145 x 8, 155 x 8, 155 x 8, 155 x 8

Oh my cardio! The second set at 155 was tough, probably the toughest of them all, but it was an improvement over last week.

1b. military press-cleaned the bar up instead of using a rack

35 x 10, 47 x 8, 47 x 10, 52 x 8, 52 x 8, 52 x 7

When Michael told me that I was going to clean the bar up today, I was skeptical. The first set was with the “female” bar, and I was extremely surprised by how easy that set felt. The military press never feels easy for me. As Michael put that bar away, he asked me which bar I wanted to use next since he has bars that are 43, 45 or 47 pounds. I said it would be better if he didn’t tell me which bar, because I know that my brain frequently gets in the way. After the second set was easily done I asked which bar he had given me…wasn’t surprised at all to hear 47 pounds. I half expected the additional 5 pounds for the final three sets to feel heavy and tough, but my form must have been dialed in today as those sets still moved well and fast. I wasn’t to go over an RPE of 8. I wanted another rep on that final set, but I knew that it might have been too much of a grinder.

2a. reverse lunges with safety bar

95 x 20, 95 x 20

95 x 10 each split squats

2b. single arm dumbbell presses with carry

20 lbs x 11 each, 4 lengths with left arm, 3 lengths with right

20 x 12 each, 3 lengths each

20 x 8 each, 2 lengths each

Today the right arm struggled a lot with the carry. Actually, I think the right arm struggled more last week, too, which is not typical for single arm stuff.

3. rear laterals

8 lbs x 15

8 x 15

8 x 8, then switched hands to a position with palms facing me 5lbs x 11

4. hammer curls

20 lbs x 10

 

 

Leave a Reply

