2 Days to Westerns

Western Canadians is in just two days! Well technically, I suppose it is actually less than two full days now, because it should all be over 48 hours from now. I am excited but muted. I’ve had an emotional couple of days unrelated to the competition, but now I am on my version of a holiday and can narrow my focus. Or that’s the plan. Today has been a busy day and tomorrow is potentially just as full. There are lots of little things to get done and details to take care of before I compete on Friday. But first thing this morning I was able to go to the gym…my gym because my coach is back from his holiday. Of course, today’s training was rather light and easy. I didn’t even break a sweat.

1a. squats-low bar, without sleeves (because I didn’t want the struggle for such light weights)

45 x 8, 95 x 5, 125 x 3, 135 x 3, 135 x 3, 135 x 3

The shoulder wasn’t too bothered by the low bar for these, but then again the weight wasn’t even close to being heavy.

2a. bench press-competition grip

43 x 10, 63 x 5, 83 x 5, 95 x 1, 95 x 1, 95 x 1

Today’s bench felt really good and solid and fast. The shoulder was a bit bothered as I set myself up for my first set of bench, but alternating with some rope pull things seemed to help.

2b. rope pull things…my technical expertise is on point!

30 lbs x 12 x 4 sets

3. arm bars

12kg kettle bell x 5 each arm x 2 sets

The left arm definitely required more effort and focus, while my right arm would have appreciated going up in weight or reps. Oh well.

With the act of going through the motions completed, then I had to talk numbers with my coach, as in attempts for Westerns. I should have anticipated that he would ask me what I thought I could/should do, but I didn’t and was taken off guard. Openers really wouldn’t have been difficult to figure out, knowing that they would be similar to my previous competition. Okay, so maybe I could have figured it out on my own, but I’m still glad that I was able to talk it out with my coach, in person. Somehow something as simple as talking it out with Michael helped me feel more confident. I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised, because I talk things out all the time, whether here on my blog, in my journal, in my thoughts or out loud when I’m alone. Thinking or talking something out is how I process and problem-solve and figure stuff out. I might have figured that out earlier if I wasn’t so determined that I didn’t want to have to think about my attempts!

So far, I am still feeling relatively good about Westerns. With my attempts now in mind, I feel like I can claim ownership on goals for my performance, which isn’t to say that those attempts are set in stone, because I have to make decisions based on how things feel on the day. Ha ha! Who am I kidding? As if I’m going to make major adjustments to those numbers! I am confident and uncertain at the same time, but on the platform I am usually a little more heavily weighted to uncertainty. What are my goals for Westerns? Well, of course I want to win my class. I want to go 9 for 9. I want to hit PRs in every lift. Sounds simple, right? 😉

 

Leave a Reply

