4 Days to Westerns

Westerns is in 4 days! Today’s training session was rather easy, but that’s the way it has to be/should be at this point in time. Once again, training was at my husband’s gym rather than my coach’s. The gym wasn’t super busy, but there was definitely more testosterone present than my two previous visits to this gym. Thankfully, I had no trouble claiming a squat rack…I just had to listen to a couple of young guys as they took turns benching in another rack. I’m pretty sure they spent more time talking, playing with their phones and wandering around than actually pressing, but that’s not my problem.

1a.squats, with sleeves

45 x 10, 95 x 8, 125 x 5, 155 x 5 all low bar

with belt: 185 x 3 high bar

200 x 1 high bar, 200 x 1 moderately low, 200 x 1 low bar

Just like last Friday, I played around with the bar position to keep the left shoulder happy. I was actually a little surprised that the shoulder was bothered more by the moderately low single than it was by the final low single; however, “bothered more” is a relative term. High bar is definitely better on the shoulder right now.

2. bench press, competition grip

45 x 10, 65 x 8, 85 x 5, 100 x 3, 105 x 2

I’ve made it quite clear that I do not like this gym’s squat racks. The hole spacing is too big, so when you add their high hooks into the mix, you, or I, end up with a very awkward position for unracking the bar for my bench press. I can deal with the odd height and hooks for the squat, but the bench is potentially dangerous to my shoulder health as soon as there is even moderate weight on the bar. Still, even with my husband’s inexperienced hand-offs, I think today’s pressing was better than last Friday.

3. deadlifts, conventional

95 x 8, 135 x 6

with belt: 185 x 3, 200 x 1, 200 x 1

I’ll be so glad to be back at my own gym on Wednesday, even if I won’t be allowed to lift anything heavy. Now it’s about rest, recovery, making weight, and not freaking out.

 

Leave a Reply

