One Week to Westerns

It’s only one week until Westerns, and today I am not freaking out. I am excited and ready. I reserve the right to feel differently tomorrow or the next day or even the morning of, but for now I am super happy to be feeling as I do. I’m not even stressed out by the fact that my coach is away on holidays until mid next week, although I am not overly fond of the squat rack at my husband’s gym, which is where I had to go today (and again on Monday).

1a. squats, with sleeves, mostly low bar

45 x 10, 95 x 8, 135 x 5, 155 x 5

with belt: 185 x 3

200 x 1 moderately low bar

200 x 1 high bar

200 x 1 low bar

While I like the low bar, my shoulder isn’t as happy with it right now. The shoulder holds up okay until the weight gets a bit heavy, which is why I experimented on my singles. The high bar single felt the best on my shoulder. Sometimes the high bar pitches me forward, but I think this rep was pretty good. Actually, I think each rep was pretty good as far as bar path, but full low bar was definitely not nice on the shoulder and the moderate low was tolerable but uncomfortable.

1b. bench press, wide grip

45 x 8, 65 x 8, 85 x 5, 100 x 3, 110 x 1, 120 x 1

110 x 3

So I was instructed not to exceed an RPE of 9 and that I could go up to a single at 130, so long as bar speed was fast and I was inline with the RPE. I was really hoping to hit 130 today…my last heavy bench day before Westerns. After some hemming and hawing, I decided that the single at 120 was most likely an RPE of 9.5 and opted to leave it there. The back down set was smoother than I anticipated, but I still chose to finish there. While benching wasn’t really bothering my shoulder, there was still a slight increase in physical discomfort, probably more from squatting than pressing.

2. seated cable rows

60 lbs x 15, 90 x 10, 90 x 8

 

 

Leave a Reply

