A Shoulder & Squat

Two nights ago I had a dream that I lost my tattoo. I was about to show it off to someone, and it was gone. I looked everywhere but could not find it. Last night, I had a dream that I went out without wearing my glasses or putting in my contacts, so I was naturally lost and essentially blind. The lost tattoo dream was interesting, but it wasn’t until last night’s dream that I put 2 + 2 together to realize that my dreams are just a manifestation of the internal stress I am feeling. Anytime I am facing something important, it is quite common for me to have dreams of being lost or losing/forgetting something important or being late, so I suppose I will have more dreams like that over the next 11 days.

The shoulder is still an ongoing issue, but at least the neck is slowly improving. Between the shoulder and what’s going on inside of my head, I went into today’s training session with some trepidation and determination. Maybe more trepidation than determination, but Michael and I chatted a bit about it, what I’m feeling and thinking, and that helped. A bit.

1a. squat, with sleeves

low bar: 45 x 10, 95 x 8, 125 x 5, 155 x 3, 185 x 3

Low bar isn’t always very comfortable on my shoulders, so I was rather tentative as I set up for each set. I think these sets were all generally good. The bar seemed to be moving well and wasn’t bothering my shoulder. Until the set at 185. The set itself was okay, but I could definitely feel that the weight was heavy enough to make continuing with a low bar position a bad idea.

with belt: 205 x 1 with the bar just a little bit higher

It was okay, I think.

225 x 1

I set up with the same slightly higher position, went to lift the bar off the rack and had to re-rack it and step out from under the bar. The shoulder was not enjoying the heavier weight, so I had to try again but using a fully high bar position. I made the rep, but it wasn’t pretty. I hit the rack twice, of course on the left side. I wasn’t happy with that rep, and Michael let me try it again, knowing that I’m usually better on a second attempt.

225 x 1 full high bar and better

235 x 1

This weight equals my best gym PR. I last did 235 pounds on October 5 last year, which was my last heavy squat prior to competing at the BCPA’s Fall Classic. The only difference was that last October’s lift was low bar, while today’s was high bar and with a sore shoulder.

210 x 2

1b. bench press, competition grip

43 x 10, 63 x 6, 85 x 5, 100 x 3, 110 x 2, 120 x 1, 115 x 1

Despite the shoulder issue and not being allowed to bench the past two training sessions, today’s bench was pretty good. The shoulder didn’t bother me while benching. The only thing that did bother me was an almost vertigo-like sensation as I sat up at the end of every set. The feeling didn’t last very long at all, so I’d just sit at the end of the bench for a moment rather than springing up as quickly as I usually do. I guess I have to admit though that I don’t know that the shoulder would have held up for much more benching tonight…guess Michael was smart to cut my back-down set to a single rep.

Leave a Reply

