Two Weeks To Westerns

The issue with the left shoulder is possibly a bit of tendonitis and the supraspinatus is the likely culprit. It’s not the worst it could be, but the shoulder will definitely benefit from the change of training program once Westerns are finished in two weeks. In the meantime, I might have to endure some mild discomfort and frustration. And then this morning as I was getting ready for work, I reached to pick something up from the bathroom counter and instantly felt something move most unnaturally at the base of my neck/upper trap on the left side, and that spot has been trouble ever since. My range of motion feels limited, tight and sore, but the headache that has been teasing has yet to materialize. I’ve been trying to stretch and roll the area, without much success but I’m not going to give up.

I wasn’t thrilled when Michael said that we’d skip the bench press again today because of the shoulder, but I understand that it is of greater importance to give the shoulder a bit of rest than it is to push through and possibly cause further aggravation. I might have been crankier if Michael had also said I couldn’t squat today, but he let me do those…high bar to take it easy on the shoulder and I was to be honest if the shoulder discomfort increased at any point. Thankfully the shoulder stayed the same and I could honestly say that it wasn’t feeling any worse. I’m more than willing to push through some discomfort, but I also know that my most important lifts will happen in two weeks. If I have to ease up in the gym right now, it’s for the right reasons.

1a. squats-high bar and thumbless grip, with sleeves

45 x 10, 95 x 6, 125 x 5, 155 x 5, 185 x 5

with belt: 205 x 3, 205 x 3, 205 x 3

The first set at 205 felt heavy as soon as I went to lift the bar from the rack, but it was okay. The second set was okay but a bit slow. Michael asked if I wanted to lower the weight for the final set. My answer was blunt. No. The final set was better, probably the best of the three, I think.

1b. supine rows with Swiss bar

x 6, x 6

widest grip: x 6, x 6

2a. glute ham raises

3 sets of 10

2b. GHD sit-ups

with 6kg kettlebell x 10, x 10

with 8kg kettlebell x 8

Two weeks until Westerns. One more week of heavy training. In all honesty, I’m really looking forward to after Westerns when my training will take on a different look. I’ve been running on competition-style training for too long, but I went into this year knowing that the timing of these competitions wasn’t ideal. It’s been worth it though, I think, but I’m ready for some variety, as long as I’m still allowed to lift something heavier than a dumbbell from time to time.

Leave a Reply

