3 Weeks to Westerns

Westerns is three weeks from today. In fact, by this time of day I expect that all will be said and done. I will have either won or come up short. I will have either broken more Provincial records or not. I will have crumbled under the stress or I will have risen above it. To be quite honest, I am far more stressed out about this competition than I have been for any before it. I’m trying not to dwell on that too much, which means trying not to think about that day more than I need to, but that is sometimes easier said than done. Earlier today I determined that I would at least make my opening attempts. I’m also feeling mostly optimistic about my second attempts now, but I’m struggling a bit with confidence with my final attempts. To my chagrin, I just remembered that I will be actively competing against another woman, which means that I want to win and that winning could come down to a numbers game with attempts and deadlifts, and that only adds to the stress I am already feeling. It almost makes me want to not care if I win or lose…I’m just too driven to not want to win. But that is three weeks from now.

1a. squats, with sleeves and as low as I could go!

45 x 8, 95 x 8, 125 x 5, 155 x 3, 185 x 3

with belt: 205 x 3, 210 x 3, 210 x 3

Today was my first time using a fully low bar position since the last competition, so it felt a little strange but good. I definitely can’t keep my elbows under the bar as much as I have been practicing recently with the high bar, yet I think my bar path was pretty good and my sticking point was less sticky.

1b. band pull aparts with red band

7 sets of 15

1c. bench press, competition grip

43 x 8, 65 x 6, 85 x 5, 100 x 3, 115 x 3, 115 x 3, 115 x 3, 115 x 3, 115 x 3

There was the odd rep that wasn’t quite perfect, but I feel like these were mostly really solid.

2a. dumbbell standing external shoulder rotation

8lbs x 15, x 7, x 5

2b. another variation of the above form of torture

5 lbs x 8, x 4

2c. dumbbell seated shoulder external rotation

10lbs x 4 with the right, x 3 with the left

5 lbs x 8 left, x 10 right

These variations of external shoulder rotation sucked. Of course, Michael would say that I shall begin my training sessions with these from now on. There can be no doubt where my weakness lies.

 

 

Leave a Reply

