Conventional Threads

Westerns are 23 days away and training is narrowing in preparation. Time feels as if it is moving most strangely. Provincials was only a month ago, yet it feels like it has been much longer than that. I’m sure the next few weeks will fly by, but I strongly suspect that there will be a sense of time slowing, dragging, and anxious anticipation. There is a lot going on over the next few weeks, which could be a welcome distraction or a stumbling block. There are so many threads of thought tangled inside of my head.

1a. block pulls, conventional

95 x 8, 135 x 5, 185 x 3

with belt: 205 x 1, 225 x 1, 245 x 1

After several weeks of doing sumo block pulls, I have to say that conventional pulls feel so much tougher.

1b. bench press, competition grip

45 x 10, 65 x 5, 85 x 5, 100 x 5, 110 x 3, 115 x 3

105 x 4 my right shoulder moved a bit on the last rep

105 x 4 better

105 x 4

2a. conventional deadlifts

185 x 4

with belt: 205 x 2, 225 x 2, 245 x 1, 250 x 2, 250 x 1

with straps: 225 x 3

These weren’t horrible but maybe not super great. It’s not very often that I do multiple deadlift reps at heavier weights, so the double at 250 was nice. It’s not a PR though. I did a double at the same weight last September.

2b. side plank with 5 leg raises and then a 10 second hold

I only did this once, but I was surprised that they weren’t as tough as I’d thought they would be. It’s been a very long time since I’ve done side planks!

 

Leave a Reply

