Dreaming of Donuts

Mondays are typically long days for me, but today was especially long. Thanks to a customer ordering 14 dozen donuts to be picked up at 5:30 this morning, I had to start work at 4:00 instead of my usual 5AM, and that meant I was awake at 3:00. It is truly astounding how much one hour can affect the day. I managed to wake up just fine, but I had 2 large cups of dark roast in less than an hour. That is so not typical for me! I only have one small cup first thing in the morning and usually just one grande in the afternoon. Needless to say, my heart was pounding and my brain was racing for almost the rest of my work shift. Unfortunately, while the inside of me felt like a squirrel, the outside of me felt like a zombie, but I got all the donuts done in 50 minutes. The fatigue was the worst between 12 and 2PM, even with my afternoon cup of coffee. I did try to take a 20 minute nap, but naps are mostly a futile endeavor. I quickly fell to the very brink of sleep, that point where you know that you’re still awake but the pull of sleep is strong and you almost start to dream, but then alertness came crashing into my brain and would not go away. I guess that was the afternoon cup of coffee calling. Thankfully, the worst of the fatigue had dissipated by the time I got to the gym. Michael said I could do some box jumps or squat jumps to wake me up, but I assured him that I was fine. Really not a big fan of jumping. 😉

1a. squats, with sleeves, not quite high bar and not quite low bar

45 x 8, 95 x 6, 125 x 5, 155 x 5

with belt: 185 x 3, 205 x 1, 225 x 1, 205 x 3, 205 x 3, 210 x 3

Squats weren’t too bad today…mostly. Michael thought my single at 225 was faster than last week’s. I honestly don’t remember, but last week was not the greatest training session or day for me. I’ll take the improvement and keep plugging away at improving my technique.

1b. bench press, competition grip

43 x 10, 65 x 8, 85 x 5, 100 x 5, 110 x 3, 120 x 2, 125 x 1, 125 x 1

113 x 3, 113 x 3

I think the presses were good today, even if I’m a long way from my goal of 15, 000 pounds.

2a. rope face pulls

20 lbs x 15 x 3 sets

2b. pause squats, with belt and sleeves, about a 2 second pause

185 x 1, 195 x 1, 205 x 1

I love pause squats and was happy to be told I’d be doing some today. Am I the only one who enjoys doing pause squats? My form is much better when doing paused squats. Of course, that illuminates a weakness or problem with my regular squats. There’s always something to work on.

Leave a Reply

