Wondering Why

I have to say that I am feeling a little crushed today. For the first time in nearly three years, my coach seems to think that one of my goals just might be too lofty. Honestly, I am baffled as to why he would react so negatively to this new goal, and my confidence is a bit shaken by his lack of confidence in me. I don’t understand it.

Even though I am a big Superman and Wonder Woman fan, I only just watched Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice movie this afternoon. There are flaws in the movie, but I generally liked it a lot. I love Superman. I love Wonder Woman. When we finally see Wonder Woman in all her costumed glory, I have to admit that my eyes got a little teary and my excitement level was off the charts. I am so excited with how they are developing her character. The old TV Wonder Woman was iconic for her time, but this new WW is a thousand times better.

To tie this post together, I was chatting with my kids yesterday about WW and her abilities and such, which resulted in some internet research for confirmation. I stumbled across the following line:

The Golden Age Wonder Woman had strength that was comparable to the Golden Age Superman. Wonder Woman was capable of bench pressing 15,000 pounds even before she had earned her bracelets, and later hoisted a 50,000 pound boulder above her head to inspire Amazons facing the test.                                    

Did you read that? Wonder Woman could bench press 15, 000 pounds! How sick is that?! So, I shared that tidbit with my coach and posed the question that this could be my new goal. He was impressed with WW’s ability, I think, but skeptical of my goal. <sigh>

Leave a Reply

