Skipping & the PR

With Westerns creeping closer every day, I am finding myself facing unexpected hurdles, which are more mental than physical but still have the ability to throw me off of my game. If only every rough and tough day could translate into PRs in the gym and on the platform! Today was a rough day. I cringed when Michael gave me the skipping rope for part of my warm-up. He says that my ability to skip can be a good indicator of how well my nervous system is firing. I didn’t have a lot of hope in my ability to skip well today, and I realize that self-doubt can promote failure…but I didn’t skip very well. I kind of wondered if that was an indication of how the rest of the session would go.

1a. front squats, with knee sleeves

43 x 5, 95 x 5, 120 x 5, 140 x 3, 160 x 3, 160 x 3, 160 x 3

The front squats felt good today.

1b. bench press, competition grip (not touch and go!!!)

45 x 10, 65 x 5, 85 x 5, 100 x 3, 110 x 3, 120 x 3 PR, 110 x 3, 110 x 3

My bench was really solid today, except for the final set at 110. That final set was a little tougher than it should have been; there were some issues with my shoulder positioning. But I am super excited with the PR triple at 120 pounds! Quite often I will get to 115 or 120 pounds and have an ugly, tough single. If I can remember accurately without digging back through an old training log, I think that I was supposed to attempt a double at 120 prior to my competition in May and couldn’t do it. Maybe I wasn’t completely confident that I’d get all three reps today, but I did it and I’m pretty sure each rep was fairly solid.

95 x 12 PR AMRAP leaving one in the tank

And then Michael brought out the dumbbells…

2a. a combination of front and side laterals (oh joy)

10 lb dumbbells x 10? 12? I don’t know! It’s hard to count when you’re just hoping your arms don’t fall off.

8 lbs x 10-12? Yes, I dropped the weight. I’m positive that Michael said I could, but I would have done it even if he hadn’t. My training buddy laughed, because she has never heard me say something about dropping weight before. Michael laughed, because the only way he can intimidate me now is to give me little dumbbells! Sadly, he’s right.

8 lbs x 8-10?

5 lb dumbbells simply held out to the sides at shoulder height, holding as long as I could. No idea how long I held them out, but it was certainly much longer than I had expected.

2b. supine rows using swiss bar, wide grip

x 10, x 8 plus a hold

So, apart from the lateral raises, today’s training session turned out better than my day or skipping might have indicated. If only all bad days could produce good results…

 

 

Leave a Reply

