Brain Fog

Although I really don’t drink an excessive amount of coffee in a typical day, today it seemed as if I really needed more than my usual two cups. Well, the second cup was actually iced coffee, and that never seems to have the same caffeine impact as a cup of hot coffee. But I can’t really blame the iced coffee for my mental sluggishness, since the brain fog began between 10 and 11 this morning and I’m used to having my second cup of coffee between 1 and 2 in the afternoon. I didn’t have the greatest sleep last night, but it was sufficient. So I’m not sure why my brain decided to flee and I don’t know where it went…not even sure that I’ve reclaimed it yet! Thankfully, I can still squat with a minimally functional brain.

1a. squats-high bar, closer hand position, knee sleeves

45 x 10, 95 x 8, 125 x 8, 155 x 8

with belt: 185 x 1, 205 x 1, 185 x 8, 195 x 8, 215 x 1

For the most part the squats were feeling decent. The set at 195 was interesting. I think it was the fifth rep…and I wasn’t quite sure that I was going to make it back up to a standing position. I’m not sure what happened there, maybe I pitched forward a bit. I don’t know, but that rep was tough. If you could have seen my face you would have seen rather a different look than I usually have during squats, even during tough squats. Pretty sure there was almost panic in my expression. I finished the rep. Michael got into position to spot me and told me that he wasn’t going to take the bar. The toughness of that rep made me doubt myself a little, so I took quite a few extra breaths between the remaining reps. The last few reps were better than the fifth, but I’m really, really looking forward to that point when we start decreasing the volume.

1b. Spoto bench press

43 x 9, 63 x 8, 83 x 8, 98 x 8, 103 x 8, 105 x 7

tough and go AMRAP: 90 x 9

I’m not really a fan of the touch and go. Sometimes it is hard enough for me to breathe properly during normal reps. Touch and go makes breathing almost impossible, and the bar positioning just seems to be all over the place. However, there is purpose to doing them this way. I’d know what that purpose is if my brain wasn’t lost in space somewhere.

Here’s hoping my brain returns to the safety of my cranium while I am sleeping tonight, and if it doesn’t…well, tomorrow is my Friday and I’m not afraid to have more than two cups of coffee if necessary. And hopefully a walk after work…in the heat of the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

