Sweat Session

My coach wasn’t kidding when he said that he’d be working me hard for the next little while. I felt it today. All of it. Every rep. I was training all by myself this afternoon, so I cranked my music and got to work.

1a. block pulls, sumo, with straps

95 x 8, 135 x 8, 165 x 8

with belt: 185 x 8, 205 x 8, 205 x 8, 205 x 7, 205 x 7

The left knee had a couple of twinges during the second set at 205, while the left low back had a couple of twinges during the final two sets. With the exception of the various body twinges, the block pulls didn’t feel too bad.

1b. incline dumbbell presses, neutral grip

15 lbs x 10, 20 x 8, 25 x 8, 29 x 8, 29 x 8, 29 x 8, 29 x 8

I might have been able to go a little heavier for my working sets, but I wanted to play it safe since I didn’t have anyone there to spot me.

2a. deficit deadlifts, with belt and straps

185 x 4, 185 x 5, 185 x 4, 185 x 6

No joke…these were tough! My rep range was supposed to be 4-6, but I couldn’t hit the top of the range until the last set. However, I think the last set was the best. The first rep might have got a little away from my legs, but the rest of the reps skimmed up and down my legs. I’m not sure if the block pulls or the deficits were to blame, but I’ve got at least one new bruise on a knee.

2b. chin ups, small green band

x 5, x 5, x 3.5, x 3.75

The rep range here was supposed to be 5-8. Obviously I fell short on the final two sets, and I’m sure Michael would tease me about counting my partial reps.

3a. front squats

95 x 6, 115 x 6, 115 x 6, 115 x 6

By this point in my session my legs were feeling quite shaky, and I had to convince myself that I was capable of completing the required reps each set. Actually, I had to first convince myself that I could even begin each set, especially the final one.

3b. GHD sit-ups

x 15,  15, x 15, x 10

I don’t know that I have ever been so glad to have finished a training session! It was a lot of work, but I got it all done. I am so wiped out that I think I might finally get a good night’s sleep…if I can hurry up and get myself into bed. It’s already past my bedtime, and I’m back to work early tomorrow morning. That’s going to be tough after ten days off, mostly late nights and more reasonable waking times.

Leave a Reply

